Sony HDR-FX1000E purchase?

M Stewart

Established Member
Reaction score
MiniDV thread
I've been filming to HDV for a few years, using a Sony HDR-HC5E (10x zoom) and that's been supplemented by a Canon HV30 from about a year ago. (Useful for manual control over sound levels.) The HDR-FX1000E has a 20x zoom lens which could be useful when filming larger birds.
I'm now wondering what image quality benefits I would obtain by moving up to a 3-CMOS sensor Sony HDR-FX1000E.
I've downloaded the Operating Guide, so I know what features are offered, and the "film-look" isn't that important to me. Several of the features could be interesting to experiment with, but my query here is more about what improvements in image quality I could expect versus my HC5E, which does remarkably well in good light. I'd expect improvements from the FX1000E in low light, but would I also notice significant improvements in normal day light?
(The Sony Guides quote 2 lux (HC5E) versus 1.5 lux (FX1000E) as the minimum lux levels.)

Many thanks

Last edited:
MiniDV thread
I've been filming to HDV for a few years, using a Sony HDR-HC5E (10x zoom) and that's been supplemented by a Canon HV30 from about a year ago. (Useful for manual control over sound levels.) The HDR-FX1000E has a 20x zoom lens which could be useful when filming larger birds.
I'm now wondering what image quality benefits I would obtain by moving up to a 3-CMOS sensor Sony HDR-1000E.
I've downloaded the Operating Guide, so I know what features are offered, and the "film-look" isn't that important to me. Several of the features could be interesting to experiment with, but my query here is more about what improvements in image quality I could expect versus my HC5E, which does remarkably well in good light. I'd expect improvements from the FX1000E in low light, but would I also notice significant improvements in normal day light?
(The Sony Guides quote 2 lux (HC5E) versus 1.5 lux (FX1000E) as the minimum lux levels.)

Many thanks