Question Sony HDR-CX450 please help with settings

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by verhoven, Jan 15, 2017.

1. verhoven

verhoven
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello Guys,
    I am a total noob and require help [​IMG] Just baught my first handycam for shooting video tutorials. For 2 years was doing it with iphone 5. Main reason of purchase: video stabilization (shoot a lot from hand) and autofocus (on iphone had to constantly adjust manually during recording). Camera choice was done based on external mic jack availability.
    So, i made my first videos and got dissapointed greatly with the results. Image is not crispy clear as was on iphone, its somewhat grainy and not smooth, when i move hands, its sometimes shows pixels or whatever it is...
    Videos were done on tripod, table is covered with black felt, lots of colourful cards on it, two softboxes with E27 105W lamps directed on the table.
    Camera settings tested:
    50i with all types of High Quality options (HQ, FH, FX) with both XAVC S HD & AVCHD
    50p with AVCHD
    Auto white balance; one push white balance; inside white balance (latter was the worst)
    Now, there are 4 settings: Exposure; Focus; IRIS; Shutter speed - all auto; if i change one to manual, set another to manual, previous will be turned back to auto...In any case i tried to change one at a time (without understanding what am i doing), but did not see any big difference in the picture...
    I export videos via usb straight to imovie on macbook.

Please advise which settings should i try.
    Many thanks in advance!

2. 12harry

12harry

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +388
    Try to film at the highest quality settings ( ie shortest duration given in User Guide for yr SDHC card ).