1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony HD5 Vs iRiver 320, what should I buy?

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by D_C, May 5, 2005.

1. D_C

D_C

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys,

Newbie here so go gently! I'm planning to make my first HD mp3 player purchase and I was all about to get the 20gb iRiver when I heard that Sony are about to release the HD5 (will it deffo be released on May 20?). So my question is, which one do I get?

I have a shed load of music stored on to my Windows Media Player, so ideally, I would like to easily import that directly on to whatever player I buy, I've heard that this isn't so easy with the Sony HD3 though, so I was wondering whether there would have been any changes to the HD5?

Also, what's the deal with SonicStage? I've heard that its pretty hard to use and get to grips with.

Any thoughts would be highly valued, cheers.

2. mcfarfs

mcfarfs
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +12
    What format are your songs? If they are WMA then it is probably worth getting the iRiver because the HD5 will not play these, it will convert them to ATRAC3 beforehand which takes a while!

I personally have no problems with SS. The latest version, 3.1, is fine. I suggest you download it first to see if you are going to have any trouble using it.

http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=207698 - this thread gives you the link to download it.

Unfortunately, SS is the only way to put music onto the player. You can drag and drop using it as an external hard drive, but it will not play back songs which are not encoded with the OMA wrapper. This is because of DRM.

3. D_C

D_C

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0