1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony HD3 & HD5 Service Menu

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by emqav, May 29, 2005.

  1. emqav

    emqav
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    32
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there,
    In the first place I wish to thank the author of the "European Volume Solution" for the NW-HD's Sony. I tried and it was a success (although I would like to have even more volume, just for some musics....) :)

    But the main question here is about the other options of "Service Menu".
    There is an option CLOCK which I selected and then it gaves me an OK answer. I hope I did not mess with anything serious but I would love to know what does that means ?
    Also it would be great to know is there is any other interesting options to deal with (perhaps the copy of the Service Menu Manual...... :clap: )

    Thanks for all your help and best regards to all of you.
     
  2. Steven

    Steven
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    36,465
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +6,239
    you mess with service menu at your own risk (apart from removing volume limit). Some on this forum have reported players freezing after messing about. :)
     
  3. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    I wonder why CLOCK is mentioned in there, there seems to be no clock (visible) on the device.
     
  4. emqav

    emqav
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    32
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes and when you select it gaves you an OK answer. I wonder why ?
    Is it measuring something ?
     
  5. altecc

    altecc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I read something about DL'd music with rights, after 30 days, it dies (unless you sync). Maybe it resets that clock?

    Tom.
     
  6. njiri

    njiri
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wonder if you can turn the clock off? If so, do you get unlimited access to DL'd music?
    Just a question as I'm too chicken to try it on my HD3.
    Njiri
     
  7. Hasselhoffia

    Hasselhoffia
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My (some would say educated) guess is its not the time clock you are thinking of but the clock for the timing of the internal components of the device, and that this menu option is for the service technicians to verify that the input clock frequency is correct for the various chips and so on inside. Whilst you can overclock CPU's on PC's, I'd very much advise against trying to overclock your HD3. Particularly if you don't like Alvin and the Chipmunks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...