1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony HD3 and converting MP3's to atrac3+

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by jmscott, Mar 24, 2005.

  1. jmscott

    jmscott
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know of a way to convert my mp3's to atrac3+ 64kbit/sec.
    I thought it would be easy but I have tried several ways and eachtime the mp3 conversion tool keeps saying that "none of my files require conversion", so it doesn't even startup. I think this is because the HD3 plays mp3's native. The only way I have succeeded is to use the automatic transfer option and this does convert them as they are transferred. However, this is only at a bit rate of 48kbit/sec, which cannot seem to be changed, which seems good but I would like to try a higher bit/rate. Most of my MP3's are at 192 kbits/sec but I have read reviews that say that the HD3 works better with atrac3+ and a lot of the sound functions only work with atrac format. I am using sonicstage2.3 but I might try and download v3.0 and see if it is easily done from there.

    Thanks, John
     
  2. jmscott

    jmscott
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I guess, by the lack of response, noone else has managed this either ?
     
  3. Kjetilb

    Kjetilb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wouldn't convert the files if I were you. :nono: Converting from one lossy format to another will inevitably lead to bad sound quality... And why would you want to compress your tunes so much? Both 48 and 64 kbit sounds terrible...
     
  4. toohuge

    toohuge
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hello,

    Try going onto SOny's website and find the update for Sonic whatever it is and then download it, i think 3 is the latest not sure but i think yours may be out of date!
     
  5. dragthewaters

    dragthewaters
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. dragthewaters

    dragthewaters
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    what is the adavantage of using atrac? i heard that it makes the battery last longer, is this true?
     
  7. balbesina

    balbesina
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    use ss 3.0 for resolve your problem
     
  8. malheuresement

    malheuresement
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Better sound quality to file size ratio, enables you to use additional sound features on the HD3.

    Its true about the battery life - something to do with the processor needing to do extra work to play mp3s. The 30 hr battery life is quoted for 48 kbps rate.
     
  9. jmscott

    jmscott
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I shall give the file conversion tool a try and Soundstage 3
    I am not convinced that I need atrac3+ format but shall experiment.
     
  10. lammy

    lammy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    cheers 4 the conversion link, i will use this in the future
     
  11. lammy

    lammy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    i was wondering should i convert the files before i put them onto the hd3 or doesn't it matter??
    Also does it convert the files and replaces them or makes a copy of it? where is the converted file stored/saved?
     

Share This Page

Loading...