Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Sony HC90 v HC42

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by janesprog, Oct 12, 2005.

1. janesprog

janesprog

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hiya

I'm new to all this but thought this might be useful for others....
    We bought an HC42 the other day - I was really pleased with it - looked good, worked easily, fitted into my hand well and I could access the controls easily whilst holding it. PQ was fine and the docking station supplied with it was the icing on the cake for me as it meant I could plug everything up - the firewire, power and any future cables - into the base station then just grab the camcorder as and when I needed it knowing it was always fully charged.

Well, then my broadcast engineer hubby came home (yawn yawn - sorry but you know what you are like sweetie?!!!) and decided the PQ in low light or artificial light was terrible - we then got a HC90 and took footage in the same light /room etc to cmpare the difference as I wanted to keep the HC42 as it has a docking station and the HC90 doesn't.

The difference was amazing - the colour was much truer on the HC90 - reds were red, whereas on the HC42 the red was showing as salmon pink with light orange and deeper pink patches - and there was all sorts of yellowing patterning on it - only very slight but noticable to a non-techie like me.

So I've spent all day cursing SONY for not making an HC99 or whatever so I get all the PQ and functionality of the HC90 but with the docking station of the HC42......