1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony FX66 TV problem

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by mickl, Aug 31, 2003.

  1. mickl

    mickl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +28
    wonder if anyone can help with this problems

    I bought an ex-demo Sony 32FX66. After installing it and setting it up for about 30mins I'd put the tv in standby, when I tried switching it back on with the remote I just heard a click and the standby light starts blinking and no picture.

    Powered off the machine completely, powered back on. Still no joy, again just clicks when I press the remote and the standby light blinks.

    Tried using the prog buttons on the sets side panel but no use.

    Manual says if standby light blinks you should call a service centre.

    Anyone know if this is now a dead TV or if there's something that can be done by me? Thankfully I've got onsite warranty for it if it is dead :(
     
  2. HowieC

    HowieC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    249
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    The blinking led indicates an error code. Count the number of blinks between each pause, let me know and I'll tell you what it indicates.
     
  3. mickl

    mickl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +28
    when I switch the set on the LED blinks 2 times.

    when I press the standby button, I hear a click then the LED blinks 14 times

    thanks Howie
     
  4. HowieC

    HowieC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    249
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Its unusual to have two different error messages, but 2 blinks means OCP (over current protection) and 14 means Backend Error
    This usually refers to EEPROM corruption. Sony sets will not start up if they detect a whole range of problems. Bottom line is that the set needs attention, probably in a workshop.
    BTW the fact that it is Ex-Demo does not change the fact that you have a guarantee from the date of purchase.
     
  5. RichB14

    RichB14
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    764
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +18
    HowieC,
    Long shot but do you know where i can get the service menu for the 32fx66.



    Cheers
     
  6. HowieC

    HowieC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    249
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Did you mean menu or manual?
     
  7. RichB14

    RichB14
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    764
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +18
    To get info on the settings and what they do as my screen bends in going down the sides
     
  8. HowieC

    HowieC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    249
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    I do have a service manual for the FX66, give me a better idea of your problem and I'll see if I can help.
     
  9. RichB14

    RichB14
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    764
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +18
    On the picture you will see the two red arrows thats where the picture bends in and the red box top right is where the picture bends down.
    Is there anything in the service menu that you can do to adjust it.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. HowieC

    HowieC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    249
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Try adjusting the PIN AMP setting in the Geometry menu.
    Make a note of its setting before adjusting!!!
     
  11. RichB14

    RichB14
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    764
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +18
    Ok i'll have a look at them tonight,
    Cheers mate
     
  12. HowieC

    HowieC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    249
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Further thought, PIN AMP and UP CORNER PIN in combination.
     
  13. RichB14

    RichB14
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    764
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +18
    How do you get into it again, did have it written somewhere
     
  14. HowieC

    HowieC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    249
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Theres a couple of ways, my favourite is to set the remote to service mode......

    1/ Press the MODE selector (wide bar near top) until the green TV led lights.

    2/ While still lit press and hold the yellow button until TV led starts to blink.

    3/ While its blinking enter 99999.

    4/ All three leds should blink. Remote is now in service mode.

    To access service menus press the small green video on/off button twice. TT should appear on screen. Press MENU to enter service menus. Scroll to required sub-menu and right arrow to enter.

    ****Note settings before changing them****

    To exit service mode press MENU and then 00

    You can leave the remote set in service mode for easy future access, or set it back to normal by repeating steps 1-4 this time keying 00000 at step 3.
     
  15. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +507
    Hi,

    What screen setting is your FX66 on in that picture??

    Dal
     
  16. RichB14

    RichB14
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    764
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +18
    just on wide
     
  17. RichB14

    RichB14
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    764
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +18
    HowieC,
    That combo dosen't seem to work on my set do you know any others at all.
     
  18. HowieC

    HowieC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    249
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Is there distortion of a 4:3 image or only when full screen?
     
  19. RichB14

    RichB14
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    764
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +18
    Yes and its even more noticable you can see it on all views
     
  20. HowieC

    HowieC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    249
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Its very difficult to diagnose without seeing the set, but these sets do suffer from less than perfect deflection set-up.
    The only answer is a combination of adjustment of the neck magnets and the menu settings and even then there is usually some error. My set has a slight curve at the top of the screen even after thorough setting up.
    Do you have any way of producing a test card or a cross-hatch, if you do send me another pic of the screen. (some dvds have set-up tracks)
     
  21. RichB14

    RichB14
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    764
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +18
    Could i email a pic to you as then i can take a better quality one, if so pm me your addy.
    Cheers
     
  22. HowieC

    HowieC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    249
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    You have a pm
    HowieC
     
  23. RichB14

    RichB14
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    764
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +18
    Hard to see on the photos.
    HowieC you have mail.
     
  24. RichB14

    RichB14
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    764
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +18
    Managed to get into the service menu in the end and i've adjusted quite a few settings and it's almost perfect now so thanks Howie for all your help.
     
  25. HowieC

    HowieC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    249
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Glad to be of assistance, it does beg the question however, why do Sony sets leave the factory so badly set up?
     
  26. RichB14

    RichB14
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    764
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +18
    Indeed it does, and hoycome a novice like myself can adjust the set at home when a few weeks back JL's repair center could not.
     

Share This Page

Loading...