1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony Firmware upgrade! NW-E405/E407/E505/E507, NW-HD5/HD5H

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by Steven, Jul 8, 2005.

  1. Steven

    Steven
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    36,464
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +6,239
  2. Mike_manchester

    Mike_manchester
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got a friend to translate the page and it seems this firmware patch addresses several concerns Sony have about possible litigation from missuse of the players, contrary to the law on sound levels now present in many countries.

    One of the "features" is the removal of SP SET from the service menu, because of the widely publised hacks and a further reduction in the overall attainable volume, in line with projected legislation.

    It seems to suggest that non ATrac files will have the volume "levelled" or reduced automatically when the track is transferred to the player, to protect peoples hearing. This process will happen at the same time as the OMA wrapper is applied.

    There are further notes that Atrac is safer on the ears than Mp3 and that high frequencies will be automatically "rolled off" to protect hearing on Mp3 and other non Atrac files.

    On the download section, it says this firmware patch will be automatically applied to any players sent back for service or repair.
     
  3. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    Eugh.

    Hmm.. if the SP SET function has been removed,then surely changing the other option to either US or JAP out of EU will now correct any sound level problems?
     
  4. sxc

    sxc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    I did a babelfish translation of these pages and can't find any reference to volume limiting.

    I can still find the SP SET menu option in the service menu.
     
  5. clivem2

    clivem2
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I were a conspiracy theorist I'd be thinking they were doing this to prevent us from sending back our HD5's to have their buttons fixed!
     
  6. KeanosMagicHat

    KeanosMagicHat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    4,551
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    England, UK.
    Ratings:
    +554
    If this is true then the application of this firmware "upgrade" automatically upon service is just plain wrong.

    Sony taking the "moral high ground" in this way by enforcing the nanny culture on us through limiting the volume when there have been production issues on the NW-HD5 is really taking the mickey ( :mad: I wanted to use another word there but I know there's no swearing on the forum).

    Before the volume limiting hack became available, people that had owned other players and moved to Sony were returning NW-HD1 and NW-HD3 because they felt the volume was too low.

    Enforcing this change would be a HUGE MISTAKE by Sony as we will now start to see this happening again.

    Why are Sony bothering to strictly observe this EU regulation anyway when other companies seem to be ignoring it?

    If my player has to go back during the warranty period it will go back with a note to say that I am happy with my player as purchased, do not want a firmware upgrade and if they apply one which adversely affects the performance of my player I want a refund.

    :mad:

    _______________________

    EDIT - I did start my post by saying, "if this is true" and having done a babelfish translation I can find no reference to this at all.

    It only seems to say that it addresses the problem of "freezing" as per the below:

    "We guide to NW-HD5/HD5H itself software version updates "1.2". By the execution of this update, contents below are improved.

    When starting and while operating/while etc. playing back, extremely rarely freezing (were times when operation is not accepted) it does. "
     
  7. Mike_manchester

    Mike_manchester
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry...it was Friday afternoon and i was feeling bored :)..

    I am as much in the dark as you guys are about this firmware update

    Michael
     
  8. extremelydodgy

    extremelydodgy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +63
    You're evil :D
     
  9. extremelydodgy

    extremelydodgy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +63
    I applied the firmware update, and it went on my CEK HD5 fine (I have the menus set to Japanese in any case though). It doesn't affect your sound pressure regulation settings, and you can still access those settings... so you can still make use of the 'full' (rather pathetic in comparison to other players when used with good headphones) 5mw.


    One of the things I've noticed straight away is no lag in the artist/album/genre listing.
     
  10. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    Thanks for that info, I'm just doing it now.

    Gotta love how Google translates "MP3 player" on that page:
    "Ensure the knitting machine is connected to the AC adapter" :D
     
  11. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    Yup, the update of my knitting machine has gone smoothly. No quieter volume, and as Dodgy said, it runs faster now. Yay! Thanks for posting that.

    For those not wanting to sift through the instructions, just download the file at the very bottom of the page (linked from the big button) and put it on the root folder of your HD5. Then plug it into the AC adapter, choose Intialize System from the bottom of the options, and choose Update firmware.
     
  12. mcfarfs

    mcfarfs
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,367
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Ratings:
    +12
    OMG LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  13. Steven

    Steven
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    36,464
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +6,239
    At her Majesty's service.... :D
     
  14. extremelydodgy

    extremelydodgy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +63
    Oh yeah, ever wonder how people get hold of news like this so fast?


    http://www.watch.impress.co.jp/av/

    This site has all the latest news on gear. Babelfish it on a regular basis.
     
  15. linking

    linking
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    can this update be used on non-jap versions of HD5?
     
  16. BlueEntity

    BlueEntity
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  17. sxc

    sxc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    yes
     
  18. jceric

    jceric
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hello

    i'm just upgraded my EU HD5H with a sony leather case and it don' affect the sound preset so go on :)
     
  19. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    Yeah, it worked on my UK-bought knitting machine with no problems :D
     
  20. Hrochnick

    Hrochnick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Brno
    Ratings:
    +9
  21. shirleywhite

    shirleywhite
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Just wondering if it's worthwhile updating the firmware ( if so far not having suffered from any freezes) ?? ( the "aint broke so dont fix" syndrome??!!) I guess there's no harm just doing it !! There's a suggestion that speed ( menus etc?) seems to be improved - can anyone confirm yet please??

    My black hd5 still ok ( re button cracks ) after about 5 weeks now!!
     
  22. KeanosMagicHat

    KeanosMagicHat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    4,551
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    England, UK.
    Ratings:
    +554
    Now that this is on the European site, I'm more tempted to "upgrade" my player even though I have had no problems with freezing.

    Two questions please before I do, I take it this is compatible with the NW-HD5H (in terms of recognising the bigger disk etc). Has anyone with an NW-HD5H tried it yet?

    Also can we confirm that the SP settings do not disappear as per Mike's joke earlier?

    ______________________________

    Edit - OK I've just spoken to Sony's UK customer centre and they have confirmed that this works fine with the NW-HD5H.

    So just the SP settings question - that was a joke right?

    I will still have access after update?
     
  23. Hrochnick

    Hrochnick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Brno
    Ratings:
    +9
    Yes and yes. I upgraded mine this morning and have just double checked and the SP SET option is still there.

    As for the menu's being quicker, I really coudn't say. I don't think so, if it is then maybe marginally.
     
  24. KeanosMagicHat

    KeanosMagicHat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    4,551
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    England, UK.
    Ratings:
    +554
    Thank you - Just upgraded and all seems fine.

    Good to see Sony actually releasing firmware updates for the product.

    Hopefully they can now create one to expand the "Initials Search" feature to include a search by Artist, this would be far more useful IMO.
     
  25. Hrochnick

    Hrochnick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Brno
    Ratings:
    +9
    Now that would be a good upgrade.
    I'm pleased they've released this one though, I've had two crashes in a month (much better than my first which was one every other day for two weeks or so) but hopefully they're a thing of the past now.
     
  26. Steven

    Steven
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    36,464
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +6,239
    At least they can be fixed with a reset....unlike the dreaded cracks
     
  27. Hrochnick

    Hrochnick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Brno
    Ratings:
    +9
    ...which are still smiling at us all.
     
  28. shirleywhite

    shirleywhite
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Just updated my firmware too!! Easy to do - although it insisted I had the ac cable connected even though a fully charged battery ( ok - I know that makes sense for safety etc!!! ) The setting for sp set ( the euro loudness cap etc ) still there and ok. Hope Sony get their act together re the cracked buttons soon as well!!
     
  29. Hrochnick

    Hrochnick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Brno
    Ratings:
    +9
    Is it my imagination (probably) or does the HD5 sound.... better, after the upgrade?
     
  30. micaab

    micaab
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    171
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +8
    that's what i thought, but then i put it down to having a couple of beers when most things seem better :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...