Sony DVP-S7700 - Opinions? Anyone Still using one?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Mahtey, Feb 21, 2003.

  1. Mahtey

    Mahtey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hey peeps,

    I've always been in love with this player! I know it's quite old now and DVD technology is constantly advancing, but what's everone's (anyone's) opinion on this player?

    What would you consider to be a reasonable price for this player, brand new?

    Thanks in advance,

    Matthew

    p.s. I've used the search facility but alll the threads were pretty old (obviously due to the fact the player was released in '99).
     
  2. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Pretty sure it was around £800, new. It did have the Chroma bug though- and it required a chip mod.

    Probably say £100-£200.

    Shame the Sony 1st US models were excellent, gone downhill now.
     
  3. Mahtey

    Mahtey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Please excuse my ignorance, there's so much to learn about AV, what's the chroma bug?

    Thanks,

    Matthew
     
  4. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. Mahtey

    Mahtey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hey,

    Nathan: Thanks for the link - interesting.

    You learn something new everyday!

    Matthew
     
  6. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,534
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    I had a 7700 from new (paid £700 for it M/R if IIRC). Loved it to bits, it was just about the sexiest piece of AV kit I have evr owned and worked flawlessly. (Shame you had to manually select the region but the Pronto sorted that).

    Only problem with it though was the component outpur was, IMO, very poor. I think it was due to it being a 1st gen player as far as component outputs go so I sold mine about 6 months ago for £275. Was very sorry to see it go but if if you don't move on you end up with a garage full of kit :zonked:
     
  7. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Sony DVP-S500D is a 1st gen Region 1 (I bought it when only 50 R1 DVD films were available!)


    What's so poor about the early ones?- I'm using component, and seems very good.
     
  8. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,534
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    I found it darkened the image considerably and lost a lot of detail when compared to the S-Video output. It could alwya shave been that mine was faulty but I was generally very unimpressed with the component output. Now have a Philips 962 and Tosh SD900 and both are miles better - albeit not as sexy :D
     
  9. Mahtey

    Mahtey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hey,

    Messiah: What setup were you using the 7700 in, if you don't mind me asking?

    Cheers,

    Matthew.
     
  10. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,534
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Sony DA50ES amp
    Sony Pascal speakers
    Epson TW100 pj
    Tivo
    Sony Sky Box
    Terrrestrial TV

    using R1 and R2 DVDs.
     
  11. fraggle

    fraggle
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,457
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +35
    If you can get a 7700 for £100 wonder if it'd be worthwhile stuffing the guts of a philips 963 or Limit 9900SE in it?

    Sexy player that works well!

    :D :D :D
     
  12. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,534
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    or have it fitted with a Cinematrix board. Sweeeeeeet.....
     
  13. Mahtey

    Mahtey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    What's a cinematrix board when it's at home?

    Matthew
     
  14. DownToTheBone

    DownToTheBone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
  15. Mahtey

    Mahtey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hey Guys,

    Thanks for all the replies.

    Whilst I'd really like to get this player, I think i'm gonna have to pass on it - my Tosh 32zd26 will take a prog scan input so I'm gonna go for a player with this feature.

    I'm tempted by the Pioneer 737, but i'm also considering importing a US spec Pioneer 656 (no SACD but prog scan).

    Cheers,

    Matthew
     

Share This Page

Loading...