Sony DVP-S735D and C:13:00

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Jonny1973, Oct 7, 2002.

  1. Jonny1973

    Jonny1973
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My 2 year old Sony DVP-S735D DVD Player has started acting up.

    Before playing a DVD it makes lots of whirring noises, struggles with layer changes and sometimes stops saying "C:13:00"

    Is my player shagged???

    The discs don't look dirty. I've tried a lense cleaning dvd and using the auto alignment in the service menu. But it's still acting up.

    :mad:
     
  2. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    5,204
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +298
    I have a first generation sony dvp-315 in my Daughters bedroom which has just started to give the same error message on a blue screen, It did this at the weekend with Snow white R2, I pressed menu and they it seemed to play alright.
    Not sure what the message means but I do have an old mag in the loft which tells you how to get into the service menu, it tells you how to auto align the laser, maybe this will cure it. :confused:

    P.S Mine doe's not suffer from (lots of whirring noises, struggles with layer changes)
     
  3. Jonny1973

    Jonny1973
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    To get to service mode,

    put the player in standby
    then press Title, Clear, ON

    I tried option 1. Drive Auto Adjustment

    But still have the problem.

    The C:13:00 message means dirty disk but could also mean f***ed laser.
     
  4. Jonny1973

    Jonny1973
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    :mad:

    The player cost me £500 2years ago and £75 last year to get it chipped again for RCE disks.
     
  5. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    5,204
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +298
    Not another of my Sony products going down the pan :mad:
     
  6. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    5,204
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +298
    I payed £450 for the 315, it was the first Sony player on the market in the UK. :eek: What I could get for £450 now :mad:
     
  7. Jonny1973

    Jonny1973
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone ever had a DVD player repaired for this fault?

    How much did it cost?

    I don't really want to buy another DVD player yet, I've just bought a Pro-V to get progressive scan out of my 2 year old £600 Sony player.
     
  8. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    5,204
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +298
    Jonny

    I know you don't want to hear this but it would probably be cheaper to buy a new player.
    Try posting a new thread, asking for repair centre recommendations.

    Out of interest, how many hours has your laser done?
     
  9. Jonny1973

    Jonny1973
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi tim,

    2,334 hours
     
  10. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    5,204
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +298
    That doe's sound quite a lot, I wonder what the service life is meant to be.

    A bit obvious this one, but did you try a laser cleaning disc?

    My Brother has had two differant makes of dvd player totally wreck two disc's. They both went back. The laser seams to have dropped and scratched the disc's.
     
  11. Jonny1973

    Jonny1973
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tim,

    I've tried

    Allsop laser lens cleaner from HMV,
    cleaning my DVDs,
    aligning the heads using auto mode in the service menu,
    swearing at it.

    I guess I'll have to take it to my local $ony $ervice centre. Luckily, it's 2 miles away!!
     
  12. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    5,204
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +298
    Good luck with the $ony centre, hope it doesn't cost too much.
    Let me know how you get on.

    Cheers.
     
  13. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    22,413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +10,444
    join the club with the C13:00 error!!!

    I've been getting it for a while now, on various dvd's....and to think i paid £500 for my 725 when it first came out!
     
  14. MrH

    MrH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Jonny

    Have you tried removing the cover and wiping the laser lens gently using a cotton bud. It worked on my Sony 725 which was skipping and freezing on various discs (can't remember if I had an error message though). This happened a few months ago and although my hopes were not high because the laser lens looked clean already, it worked a treat. No problems since.

    Obvious safety rules apply: Disconnect player from mains first, anti static measures etc.

    Rich
     
  15. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    My 715 does this error occasionally on a few discs - but then works if you have another go, it seems to be on Warners or Disney discs especially layer changes

    Problems I have had are A Perfect Storm, 6th Sense, Jungle Book, & Matrix

    Matrix normally plays all way through, but once stuck at the L/C with that error!
     
  16. Gwynne

    Gwynne
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    32
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Oxon
    Ratings:
    +1
    MJN,

    Me too! me too! C:13 error for 12m or more; initially helped by lens cleaning but of late my 725 won't play dual layer no matter what I do. There was talk of a class action law suite in the USA, but then there would, wouldn't there?

    I decided to get another player, as per this thread.

    Bummer, really, as it wasn't a bad player.
     
  17. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    5,204
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +298
    At last the World has started to find out how poor $ony products really are.
     
  18. Jonny1973

    Jonny1973
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I removed the lid tonight and gave the lens a clean with a lens cleaning cloth.

    ....but the player still isn't happy.
     
  19. Gwynne

    Gwynne
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    32
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Oxon
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'll do mine next week, when the Toshiba has arrived, and let you know the outcome. Is the lens easy to get to?
     
  20. Jonny1973

    Jonny1973
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Gwynne,

    Once you've removed the 5 (2 each side, 1 back) screws from the lid, you are faced with a black plastic circular housing with 2 screws. It's under there. Should take a couple of minutes.

    Then re-align using the service menu (player off,title, clear, power). It's recommended that you recalibrate using a single layer disc then a dual layer disk.
     
  21. Gwynne

    Gwynne
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    32
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Oxon
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ta. Wish me luck; I'm going in...
    <python>
    I lie awake at night dreaming of playing dual layer disks. Lucky, lucky b**tard
    </python>
     
  22. Jez

    Jez
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    471
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have found the setup/engineers menu for the first time after having probs with c:13:00

    It says i have done cd 19hrs and dvd 1912hrs

    Which option do i use for recalibtration?

    There are several options?

    1. Drive Auto Adjustment
    2. Drive Manual Operation
    3. Mecha Aging
    4. Emergancy History
    5. Version Information
    6. Video Level Adjustment

    I get the impression i have to put disks in but i'm not sure which disc is for what if you know what i mean.

    With 1912hrs playback is it worth it?
     
  23. TimHiFi

    TimHiFi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +1
    I get that code on my sony S715 too occasionally :0(

    Mostly with DVD-Rs, and some US discs. I just assumed that my player was OLD, and no compatible with some of the newer discs.

    Where can you find a manual you can download, the User manual, and the service manual ... can't find them on the internet.
     
  24. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    27,245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,064
    I have had the error only once with my NS900. It was caused by a Memorex DVD-R I made from a TV recording. All my commercial DVD's play fine (nearly 1000 from over six years).

    I then found it also didn't play on five other players but, it did play on my Panasonic HS2.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice