Sony Dvp-ns76h

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by kevinsmith98, Mar 22, 2006.

  1. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    22,503
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +8,890
    Does this play divx 6 files and packed xvids (whatever they are, the Pioneer 696 plays em anyway lol)?
     
  2. husax

    husax
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you check the ns76's manual you will find it saying about divx: it may not play certain files, it might not support certain functions. I don't think this would be a good divx player, just guessing. In addition, If you want good divx functionality then better go for a player with mediatek chipset like the DV-696, I think that there will be unofficial firmwares in a while adding certain divx funtionalities and fixing some mistakes.
     
  3. steve-p

    steve-p
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    286
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    You're comparing x Mbit packet based DSL with error correction, with up to 5 gigabit HDMI with no error correction? I don't see the similarity personally.
     
  4. Derision

    Derision
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +5
    According to the DivX website, the NS76H is DivX certified, which means it will "Play all DivX videos including DivX 3, 4, 5 and 6 as well as purchased or rented DivX movies."

    http://www.divx.com/certification/

    Regarding XVID, I've had my NS76H for about a month and it has played every XVID I have tried (about 40 of them), including those with packed bitstream (as reported by Mpeg4modifier). Previously I watched my XVIDs via XBMC, now I just burn them to DVD-RW and watch them on the Sony ... can't fault it :smashin:
     
  5. Revaan

    Revaan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +72
    Just bought the ns76 and I have to say, just hooked up my QED HDMI-P cable and the picture is absolutely amazing on my 40V2000. (Preferring the 1080i over the 720P).

    Just get it already...
     
  6. stevogums

    stevogums
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +8
    Really usefull to know that tyvm..
    Most stuff i watch is in xvid(after using MPEG4 mod)...
     
  7. WGLOVER

    WGLOVER
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,595
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Billinge, Wigan
    Ratings:
    +121
    Just watched Two Brothers (Tiger film) on 720p.

    It was excellent. Compared to the HD stuff it is not far behind. I can't see how Blue ray or HD DVD can be that much better. It will be, but will the extra cost be justified?
     
  8. steve-p

    steve-p
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    286
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    I would have said no, but having watched a lot of HD stuff now on Sky, I'm begnning to change my mind about that. A lot of the movies Sky show in HD are not hugely better than DVD, but some are, and the a lot of the BBC, National Geographic and Discovery stuff is outstanding. I'll be waiting for two things though. The resolution of the format war, or at least the availability and cost of the DVDs to become worthwhile, and the price of true 1080 panels to come down. In the meantime, the Sony will do nicely.
     
  9. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    22,503
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +8,890
    Anyone have an opinion on how this compares to the Samsung HD860?

    Cheers
    Andy
     
  10. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    22,503
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +8,890
    It worries me slightly that Sony never seem to release firmware updates for their players. If you look at the number of firmware releases there have been for the Oppo for example, all of which I assume were necessary to either improve the product or fix bugs, makes you wonder how it's possible to get away without upgrading this, surely it can't be completely bug free out of the box!
     
  11. chukkychukky

    chukkychukky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi folks, just a quick one. Are there any major fautls or issues anyone has encountered with this player?

    I need something reliable to play all regions, DVD-R and DivX discs soon.
    Bought the Tosh SD360E but had problems with sound and picture jitter, been throught the thread on the DVPNS76 and cant find any issues....

    :thumbsup:
     
  12. WGLOVER

    WGLOVER
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,595
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Billinge, Wigan
    Ratings:
    +121
    As can be viewed elswhere on this forum, previous Sonys
    (DVP NS92 for example) have had problems requiring a new PCB, but have had firmware upgrades to give extra types of playback.
    This player has not got the problems of the others and already has the extra playback options.
    Fingers crossed, but maybe a manufacturer has at last issued a player that is fault free.
    Can you do that Philips?
     
  13. gingerone

    gingerone
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,570
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +390
    I'm seriously thinking about getting this player to replace my samsung 850, the only thing I'm concerned about is picture shift via HDMI are there any reports of this occuring with this player?

    Cheers
     
  14. rusty mechanic

    rusty mechanic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    813
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    nottingham
    Ratings:
    +56
    none at all, i've had this player for 3 weeks now and so far it's been faultless.
     
  15. amavadia

    amavadia
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,265
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +17
    question for someone who has the dvd player...

    I terms of audio, how does it physically connect to the sound system?

    Does it have 6 seperate phono sockets on the back, one for each channel that you can connect to your amp or is it all digital and optical?
     
  16. smithie

    smithie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi
    its easy to get excited about hi-def players and the discs which in theroy should be a massive step forward,but alas i wont hold my breath!
    you tend to find that alot of new stuff that gets transfered to a new format is taken from the original compressed or whatever disc was out previous,the improvement will come when someone takes the time and love to re-master from the master tapes or whatever it was made in,or like the bbc etc actully produce certain programs from the ground up in hi-def.
    so upscaling dvd player such as the sony could be priceless and maybe just as good as some of those so called hi-def material thats avaliable now!
    well thats my 2cents and view anyway!
    :D smithie
     
  17. JAYGAR

    JAYGAR
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wolverhampton
    Ratings:
    +15

    Its connected by optical or digital coaxial lead.
     
  18. WGLOVER

    WGLOVER
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,595
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Billinge, Wigan
    Ratings:
    +121

    It only has digital outputs for surround.
    It has stereo analogue outputs.
     
  19. amavadia

    amavadia
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,265
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +17
    ah, thats really annoying because i cant get it anymore!

    my amp only takes phono input!!

    and i want surround sound!

    can you get like an optical or digital to analogue converter? and how much do they cost?
     
  20. WGLOVER

    WGLOVER
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,595
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Billinge, Wigan
    Ratings:
    +121
    Probably cheaper to buy a new amp.
    I bought a obsoleted Pioneer on the internet for £120 -- brilliant.
     
  21. SgtHartman

    SgtHartman
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Messages:
    171
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    Has anyone been lucky enough to compare this Sony with the Pioneer 696? Going to get one of them and am torn between them - at the moment I cant see how the Pioneer can justify the extra cost. Are there any features lacking on the Sony?
     
  22. stevogums

    stevogums
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +8
    Digital or Optical...
    Im connected optically....spot on no issues with lip sync..
    Tested player via HDMI cable to Bravia V(set at 1080 i think it looks better at this rather than 720 personal pref)..
    Played DIVX...XVID(As Data Disk DVDR) ...superb sound and picture qual..only thing i would say is it took its time to read the DVD data disk(15/20secs)..Also ran few DVDs through ..Swordfish,Gladiator,Monsters Inc,
    Lord of the Rings..tried both HDMI and RGB..
    HDMI is stunning must say..no motion blur..perfect clarity on all the above films...is visually better than RGB....
    Not too up on the Technical reasons why HDMI looks better..just giving my personal opinion upon viewing films via the Sony DVD player...
    More than happy with the player ..and a sub £100 upscaling player that does all this to a decent standard is a bargain...goes well with the Bravia V....
     
  23. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    22,503
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +8,890
    Can someone please post a link to somewhere explaining exactly what needs doing to make this multiregion. Picked one up after work for £99.99 from powerhouse, just need to make it multiregion now. Initial impressions are very good, will report back later when I've had more of a play with it

    Cheers
    Andy
     
  24. holty2503

    holty2503
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scunthorpe
    Ratings:
    +1
    I used Oneforall 6 (URC 7562) remote to make my Sony DVP-NS76H DVD Player region free

    Follow these steps:

    Prepare:
    1. Select DVD device on remote
    2. Use device setup to set Sony DVD (device code 0533)

    Use magic key function on Oneforall to assign following
    codes to spare buttons on the remote, you need 5 spare
    keys (see manual):

    1 - 00189
    2 - 00255
    3 - 00095
    4 - 00221
    5 - 00079

    Go for it:

    1. Remove disk, put player on standby
    2. Press the keys associated in order 1,2,3,4,5 above
    - SUCCESS is displayed and player starts up
    3. Press same sequence again - player shuts down and off
    you go!

    Regards Leigh.
     
  25. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    22,503
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +8,890
    You don't get to Barton at all do you cos I haven't got a one for all remote, if you're passing I'd appreciate it if you'd do mine for me. I work in Scunny at Corus, small world eh!

    Cheers,
    Andy
     
  26. mb2251

    mb2251
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +7
    Andy, does the player work on your q321 upscaling to 720p over dvi? I'm sure I read somehwhere that it didn't work..... :S
     
  27. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    22,503
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +8,890
    I've got it set to 1080i, I'll try it at 720p and report back (hope I don't lose my picture and end up not knowing what I'm doing!). First dvd-r I tried didn't work, said 'Cannot play this disc', tried a different type of disc and it worked ok.
     
  28. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    22,503
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +8,890
    Ok, 720p works fine with my Q321, I think 1080i looks slightly better though. Gotta admit the picture this thing puts out is stunning, fantastic colours, excellent detail, honestly some of the stuff I've just watched rivaled the Sky HD movie channels! It seems to be a bit picky about dvd-r's (datawrite blues it doesn't like at all!) but apart from that I'm very happy with it!! Oh, one other thing, not sure about the audio, it's a bit 'in your face'! Seems very loud using the coaxial digital output and a bit harsh, but hey what do you expect for £100 I suppose...
     
  29. simonhughes

    simonhughes
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Just bought one of these and beginning to play around with the various settings - its a bit difficult because I'm still in my plasma run in period.

    What do the different settings do? In particular, whats cinema 1, cinema 2, standard, dynamic1 etc?

    What has anyone else found the best settings to be? BNR on/off, sharpness etc?

    I know its personal preference, but if I could start from some settings which have been tried and tested it would ertainly make it easier!

    Thanks

    Simon
     
  30. mb2251

    mb2251
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks for the info zAndy1, looks like ill be pairing one of these up with my A321 one then :)

    General q for people in the know: My current player is a Cambridge Audio DVD53 over SCART RGB - will i notice a big difference in pq with this sony player hooked up over HDMI -> DVI?
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice