Sony Dvp-ns76h

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by kevinsmith98, Mar 22, 2006.

  1. rusty mechanic

    rusty mechanic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    809
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    nottingham
    Ratings:
    +54
    there are 4 settings for the output resolution, 576, 720, 1080 and auto. if you set it to auto, it will output to match your screen but you can manualy set it to any of the other 3 with 1080 giving the best results for most.
     
  2. WGLOVER

    WGLOVER
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,595
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Billinge, Wigan
    Ratings:
    +121
    You can set the output to to whatever upscaling (or not) you want, or to auto to let the Sony decide what it likes best???
     
  3. simonhughes

    simonhughes
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks for that - are you able to help out with my audio questions?

    - Can I have audio through the digital out and HDMI at the same time?

    - Can the player send MP3 music via the digital out or does it need additional annalogue connections?
     
  4. steve-p

    steve-p
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    286
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Yes, I do that. Normally I use the optical out, but sometimes I just let the TV produce the sound. Both work at the same time.

    I haven't tried mp3s because I have a hard-disk based music server for that.
     
  5. simonhughes

    simonhughes
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Great, sounds like this is going to be the player I go for then.

    Thanks for answering - its so difficult getting a showroom to help out and its only when you get home do you find out its does or doesn't do something you wanted! This forum has been invaulable.

    Have you been impressed with the picture quality? It seems to be getting good feedback on this forum. Also, can you hear the disc spinning at all?

    Thanks once again.
     
  6. WGLOVER

    WGLOVER
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,595
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Billinge, Wigan
    Ratings:
    +121
    It runs very quietly. I don't notice any noise when close up and with no sound.

    I notice some magazines questioning the validity of an upscaling DVPs, saying that the TV is doing that itself to fit the output to its native resolution, and other magazines saying that the chip in the DVP actually adds extra lines and fills in missing detail by working out what should be there and so is better.
    What is the truth, anybody know?
     
  7. steve-p

    steve-p
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    286
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    The theory is that since the scaling is being done entirely in the digital domain, it is likely to better than the scaling done by the TV. If the TV is allowed to do it, first the DVD player converts it to analogue, it goes down an analogue cable, then the TV has to convert it back to digital again to scale it. There will be noise introduced by each of those stages. In practice, it will probably vary between DVD players and TVs.

    Some people say how can you expect a £100 DVD player to do it better than a £1000 TV, but that's not a convincing argument because most of the cost of the TV is the panel, and it may well be that the cost of the processing chips is the same in both TV and DVD player. If so, the DVD player will probably do it better, for the reason already mentioned.

    On my TV, I can say that the 1080i output does give a better picture than just using component or SCART, so it certainly works for me.
     
  8. McKinley

    McKinley
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,575
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +59
    This isn't true. You can connect these players via HDMI at 576p and that's an entirely digital process. The scaling done by the TV would not be based on an analogue signal.
    The merit of these upscalers is entirely down to the quality of the scaling solution in the player vs that in the TV.

    The new Oppo player can output 480i via HDMI which allows it to be used as an extremely cheap digital transport - i.e. you can allow your TV or Scaler to do the deinterlacing and scaling and that's entirely digital too.

    Additionally, it's worth considering that the scalers in these DVD players output 720p. Many HD TV's are 768p, which means that the image still has to be scaled by the TV. A non-scaled image via HDMI would only be scaled once - by the TV. The only way to determine which is better up-front (and therefore whether the scaling on these players is of any value to you) is to demo the equipment first.
     
  9. WGLOVER

    WGLOVER
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,595
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Billinge, Wigan
    Ratings:
    +121
    It seems that the HDMI connection is the main advantage, being digital. Which does the upscaling better is the question.
    Reading up on the subject does not help.
    I find that all settings give good results with my combination, and I am very happy with that.
    Same sort of thing with My Telewest TVDrive, both 1080 and 720 settings look good, the broadcasts are 1080 but my TV is 768. None of it is ideal, but just look at the quality.
     
  10. JAYGAR

    JAYGAR
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wolverhampton
    Ratings:
    +15
    I have just got mine connected via HDMI very pleased so far. I have noticed I have had to turn my brightness down a lot on my TV compared to my old Toshiba using RGB scart, this is a good thing on my LCD TV as black levels are better.

    Been testing lots of discs only problem is it takes a long time to load DVD-r not tried MP3s yet oh well on to more testing.:D
     
  11. njacob

    njacob
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm, looks really good, might have to get me one of them.

    Think it's time to update the old philips model. :D
     
  12. acideraser

    acideraser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi, going to order NS76 today, howevere I wonder if NS76 can upscale DIV/MPEG4 video and is JPEG output good via HDMI?
    thanks
     
  13. husax

    husax
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    May you please test size of Divx text subtitles (.txt or .srt)? I don't think it would be possible later to change the fonts in the firmware as the player is not mediatek based. I would like to know if the fonts are big enough to read, color, and backgroud color.

    Thanks in advanced
     
  14. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    22,200
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +8,642
    So can you pick this up on the high street multi region? Don't suppose the ones Tesco's sell will be multiregion, is it remote hackable or not as easy as that?

    Cheers
    Andy
     
  15. holty2503

    holty2503
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scunthorpe
    Ratings:
    +1

    Made mine multi region today, it's easy just used my All in One.
     
  16. Gordon WT

    Gordon WT
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Inverness
    Ratings:
    +8
    Can you please tell me how you did that :lease:

    Thanks in advance ;)

    Gordon
     
  17. stevogums

    stevogums
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +8
    Thinking of ordering one of these..
    Can anyone confirm this player handles Xvid /Divx to a decent standard..
    £96 Multi region Empire Direct...
     
  18. 7up4it

    7up4it
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,669
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +82
  19. stevogums

    stevogums
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +8
    Thanks for that..
    Have you fully tested it and are you happy with results ..
    Waht are you watching it on..plasma lcd crt..?
    Only looking for stop gap until HDDVD or blueray becomes cheaper..
    Want to run it HDMI on my Bravia...
     
  20. mb2251

    mb2251
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +7
    Does this box 'o' tricks come with a HDMI cable included?
     
  21. stevogums

    stevogums
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +8
    Good question should of asked that...anyone..?
    Also best way to connect to a bravia V series..
    Finger is hovering over the buy now button....:)
     
  22. Sharpfish

    Sharpfish
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No it doesn't come with a cable... but it's still worth the money easily. I picked up a lower-mid-range belkin hdmi cable @ the same time ~£30 but any decent (cheaper) one should do the job so don't let that put you off.
     
  23. steve-p

    steve-p
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    286
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Do any players at this price point include an HDMI cable? They are quite expensive at the moment so I would be surprised, and if they did, it would be a reasonable chunk of the purchase price, which might indicate the actual player was not quite as good as the price might suggest.
     
  24. mb2251

    mb2251
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +7
    Think i read earlier that the new sharp player does (£76 player).

    This still looks favourite to me, I can pick up a hdmi to dvi cable for my purposes quite cheaply...
     
  25. 7up4it

    7up4it
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,669
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +82
    I have it linked to my Hitachi TX200 projector the results from which are excellent.

    Sadly it doesn't come with a HDMI cable, I bought mine from Discount TV a 5 metre cable for £43.99.
     
  26. stevogums

    stevogums
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +8
    Thanks just ordered one off empire direct arrives monday..
    Also ordered HDMI cable...off audiovisual online...will post how it goes on moday when i set it up...
     
  27. rusty mechanic

    rusty mechanic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    809
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    nottingham
    Ratings:
    +54
    i've got this player connected to my lg 32lx2r with a gold plated hdmi cable which i got off ebay for £10 and i bet my picture is just as good as the guy with the all singing all dancing monster cable.
    so shop around because hdmi doesn't always mean expensive.
     
  28. stevogums

    stevogums
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +8
    Will keep that in mind...however i am a bit of a fan of IXOS products..
    Using one to connect my TV to TVDrive at the moment..did try it with free cable from telewest(cheapo one) and then the Ixos one..Must admit only a slight improvement in the Ixos cable..
    Can only use 1HDMI connection at a time anyway on the Bravia..unless i start using HDMI boxes ....which aint cheap..1 cable will be ok for both just have to swop when required..
     
  29. McKinley

    McKinley
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,575
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +59
    Bear in mind people that a reasonable i.e. £10 HDMI cable will most likely give as good results as a really expensive one - it's a digital signal. Think about this: Is the telephone cable used between your house and the local exchange gold-plated £35 per meter? No, and you're not getting corruption of all that digital information passing up and down it right now (and that travels for miles!). Don't get sucked into the high-price cable market - there's more on this over in the Interconnects forum, including some very interesting points - like why do cable manufacturers not provide technical analysis of their cables for you to compare between brands like they would with an amp, or dvd player...
     
  30. stevogums

    stevogums
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +8
    Never really looked into it..must say ive always followed reviews of cables..in various mags and online..
    Will read into this now you have highlighted it...
    No point spending big money if its not needed..thanks for info...(heading for interconnects section)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice