1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony DSC-W1 vs DSC-L1

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by Funky, Nov 16, 2004.

1. Funky

Funky

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5
    I saw both of these cameras in Black. One is 4.1 MP (Sony Cybershot DSC-L1) and the other is 5.1 MP (Sony DSC-W1). The size of DSC-L1 is smaller than a candy bar which is tempting. I am not a proessional potographer by any means, but I am looking to take some great pictures. Size is my main concern, I looked at both reviews and seems both of them have some positive feedback. Any opinions or suggestions. The price difference is about $20 with the W1 being less. I alsp looked at a Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX7, but I thought the Sony's Carl Ziss lens will give me a better quality picture. Any opinions or Suggestion. THanks

2. Mango Bob

Mango Bob
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got a W1 and absolutely love it...I don't know the L1 but it's got a smaller lcd - the 2.5" on the W1 takes up half the back of the camera and makes a big difference in composing and reviewing shots.

Try 'em both in a camera shop, just snap off a couple of shots with each. I preferred the 'classic' shape to candybar as it fits your hand better...less likely to blur shots accidentally.

3. Funky

Funky

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5
    Do you think the LCD of W1 is a high quality one? I try the W1 in a camera shop, and find its LCD has excellent colors and quite sharp too. Overall its one of the better LCD's I've seen. Comparing to my old camera, the LCD of the W1 is lightyears ahead.

4. seany

seany
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
  5. Funky

Funky

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5
  6. seany

seany
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1