Sony DCR-PC55, anyone own one?

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by londonmtech, Mar 5, 2005.

1. londonmtech

londonmtech

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

I am hoping to buy this Mini DV camcorder in the next couple of days but I would like some assurance from current owners or those in the know!

I am a video amateur who will only take the camera out if it is conveniently small, hence my choice! I will be capturing onto an iMac G5 through a Firewire connection (is Firewire 400 enough or is Firewire 800 needed)? I will be capturing into Final Cut Pro Express and editing from there.

I have been told that this camera provides an analogue to digital converter, by connecting to the AV cable and using an AV IN/OUT adaptor. Is this so? How does this work exactly?

Also curious about image and sound quality alongside battery life.

Finally, is there a difference between the PC55 and PC55E? If so what is it?

PC55 owners reveal yourselfs!

Thanks.

2. MarkE19

MarkE19

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,441
    Sorry, but I don't know the PC55E but can help with some of your other questions:

Bog standard firewire is all that is required for capture from a camcorder. As with all things computer bassed they upgrade & improve the specs of everything. I can only think that the newer, faster firewire standards are being developed for thing such as Hi Def video as I can't think of anything that currently requires more bandwidth.

Well assuming you are correct in saying it can do A>D conversion (and I have no reason to think you are not!) then to get an analogue video recording onto the Mac via the cam:

connect your VCR, analogue cam etc to the AV ports of the cam (sound & video)
    connect the cam to Mac via firewire
    put cam into VCR mode (or whatever its called)
    press play on the VCR