1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony DB790 or Yamaha RX-V440?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by jtwn, Jan 10, 2004.

Tags:
  1. jtwn

jtwn

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im on a budget here and think that i will get either one of these, which would you all recommend?

Im looking more for the quality of the sound with decent bass to for music, cable and a load of SVCDs i have.

Or maybe a different reciever should i get?

Thanks, Im a bit new to all of this you see :)

2. tony kop77

tony kop77

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +163
    The Sony amp is reviewd in the latest home cinema magazine and it was the best out of the 4 amps they reviwed.
    The others were
    Denon 1804,
    Marantz SR 4400,
    Onkyo tx-sr501
    jvc- rs-8032vsx

I have seen the sony amp for £200 and considering getting it myself but not sure if I should go for the sony, denon 1803 or 2802 or the pioneer VSX D812. My room is only 9ft by 9 and I want quality rather than loudness.
    I have an xbox, playstation 2, sky plus and dvd that i use via optical outputs.

3. jtwn

jtwn

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah thanks, but now its between the db790, rx-v440 or 5640.

Any recommendations?

Ta

4. tony kop77

tony kop77

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +163
    Well the Sony I have seen for £200 if that helps and it is reviewd in the latest home cinema choice magazine.

5. gipo

gipo
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think the sony .It has far better connections and power but I dont know if it is up to much as the rxv440 got 5/5 in what hi-fi

6. rupbert

rupbert

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +18