Sony DAVD260/sky+/bluray set up

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by shuvlyc, Feb 5, 2009.

  1. shuvlyc

    shuvlyc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all. I have just bought a sony bluray which I have connected to a philips 32pfl5532 via hdmi. I will probably be buying a sony DAVD260 tomorrow or sat and need to know what cables I need and where to stick them to connect everything together for optimum sound and vision. Ta muchly in advance.:lease:
     
  2. RottenFox

    RottenFox
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    17,179
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    +56°28' 10.92"/-2°59' 21.48"
    Ratings:
    +4,289
    youll need an optical audio cable,from blu-ray player to 260, for 5.1 audio.
    and for a video connection from 260 - tv,for watching dvd's on the 260, you will need another hdmi - hdmi lead.
     
  3. shuvlyc

    shuvlyc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ta for that, had thought I needed an optical somewhere after reading previous posts. And do I then need to change the bluray settings to optical? Am not too bothered about watching DVD's on the 260 as have the blu ray. Am only buying the 260 for surround sound as my old sony DAV SA30 is grand for DVD's but cracks at certain volumes going through the sky box. What should be connected to the sky box in new set up? There is only scart going to TV at the mo.
     
  4. Steeve24

    Steeve24
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    125
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    You mentioned Sky+ as well, won't you have trouble connecting that to the 260, even if you don't want/can't get (does sky+ to 5.1?) you've used up the optical in from the Blueray?
    DAVDZ260 Back.jpg

    Also will the 260 be able to handle to audio from the Blueray, it won't have support for the HD audio formats, will it ??

    I am thinking about getting the 260 as well, originally thought about the Sony 1300 as it has more connections (future proof), but the cost vs the 260 put me off, I decided that I could live with ditching the 260 and getting something else if I go Blueray in the future,
     
  5. RottenFox

    RottenFox
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    17,179
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    +56°28' 10.92"/-2°59' 21.48"
    Ratings:
    +4,289
    if he doesnt care about HD audio, then he could use an optical switch, to allow 2 or more items to connect to 1 optical input,on the 260.
    but he will still get DD5.1/DTS5.1 from blu-ray,with an optical audio lead.
     
  6. Steeve24

    Steeve24
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    125
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    Yes quite right, I was thinking of getting a switch if/when I got the 260 to connect up Sky & the audio from the TV (builtin Freeview)
     
  7. SteveU30

    SteveU30
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,985
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 6, 2009
  8. Steeve24

    Steeve24
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    125
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
  9. BigDelmonk

    BigDelmonk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am thinking of also getting the DAVD260, can someone tell me - is the speaker cable fixed? If not what gear do i need to install new cable, other than decent speaker cable. i.e. Do i need banana plugs etc?

    Cheers,
     
  10. shuvlyc

    shuvlyc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ta everybody, all up and running and everything looks and sounds great. Set up as follows:
    1. Scart from sky+ to TV
    2.Scart from 260 to sky+
    3.Hdmi from Blu ray to TV
    4.Hdmi from 260 to TV
    5.Optical from 260 to Bluray

    With a bit of jigging around with the settings I now have 5:1 with everything, am a happy bunny, although neighbour prob not so happy....:clap:
     
  11. akamrc1967

    akamrc1967
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    should be picking one of these up today from currys (£129.99) - will the above set up work with a normal sky box.
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2009
  12. RottenFox

    RottenFox
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    17,179
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    +56°28' 10.92"/-2°59' 21.48"
    Ratings:
    +4,289
    except sky+, thats stereo,as scart doesnt pass 5.1,only stereo, you need optical from sky+ for 5.1, so you will be getting stereo with rear echo.(pro logic, i suspect).
     

Share This Page

Loading...