1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony DAV-S888 multiregion hack ??

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by llanellijack, Oct 14, 2003.

1. llanellijack

llanellijack

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Newbie here !! Ive bought an Hitachi 42PD3000 linked up to a Sony Dav-S888 home cinema system via a component video lead ( QED SR CV1 ). The Sony system as I understand only supports progressive scan for Region 1 .. my system is locked to Region 2. I want to make it muti region so I can make use of the better picture quality with progressive scan. Sevenoaks have quoted me £150 :( Firstly is there a hack I can use to do this myself and if not, does anyone know of a place I can send the unit to be " chipped " for cheaper then this. Any help or advice will be most appreciated. Thanks !

2. Type23

Type23

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    LJ,
    See if you can get your money back then order it from digitaldirectuk I got a DAV-s888 already multi-region from them. Alternatively try contacting techtronics for a quote to mod your player, they do a multimod for most sony DVD players.
    How are you finding the s888 ? I haven't really been able to fully play with all the functions yet . I've set it up but find the back speakers don't seem to be loud enough ? I think its some setting which I'm not adjusting correctly ,any suggestions ?

Rgds

Rich

3. llanellijack

llanellijack

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Rich,