SONY DAV-S800

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by wah, Jul 18, 2001.

1. wah

wah

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I'm a HC newbie although I got my DVD player almost 3 years ago I finally took the plunge and ordered a widescreen TV yesterday with DD.

I was thinking of getting a all-in-one system as the telly doesn't support DTS and I think it would be more convienient than separates. I saw a picture of the DAV-S800 in a mag but am able to find out more info about it. Does anyone here know anything about this? the sony uk site doesn't have any info.

Thanks.

2. ScottGreatorex

ScottGreatorex

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    The DAV-S500 will be out soon and cost around £600, but the DAV-S800 will be out later this year, its got lovely looking floor standing speakers and (i think SACD compatable! aswell) and cost round £800. But i'll keep you posted.

3. Craig_Nike

Craig_Nike

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you sure you're not thinking about the DAV300 ? I am fairly familiar with the Sony range and I have not heard of 800 ?
    If it is the 300 a good mate of mine has one and loves it.
    DD, DTS, 6x30W amplification (5 speakers + [passive subwoofer - this amplification may be a little low for some peoples tastes, but will certainly light up your average lounge room!)
    The main negative I can think is for music playing - the 30W to the small front speakers may not be enough if your a music hound - but for Hmoe Cinema it does the trick.

4. wah

wah

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Definitely the S800, we have had the S300 here in the UK for a while now and I know Currys (UK electrical chain) are stocking the S500 in a couple of weeks but don't have a date/info for the S800. I managed to find some german and spanish sites with some info but couldn't work out what it was!