1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony DAV-500ZF or Denon DHT-500SD?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by timbo77, Aug 30, 2005.

1. timbo77

timbo77

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm a newbie to the Home Cinema world and have recently bought myself a copy of What HiFi? October 2005 Edition with a view to buying an all-in-one Home Cinema system.

In the magazine they review both of the above systems (which both rate very highly) and was looking for any additional feedback about your experiences of these?

Alternatively, if you recommend any other systems (my budget is £500) that may be out there that are better than these: I'm open to suggestions?

Thanks,
    Tim

2. snapper3166

snapper3166

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +74
    Tim,

I had the same choice to make as you, I eventually went with the sony (although i paid the extra for the 700 which is exactly the same but with wireless rear speakers), I honestly dont think that there is a lot in it, both systems got 5 Stars and the Sony only just shaded it, no doubt someone will do the same review next month and pronounce the Denon as still top of the pile because they dont like the shape of the buttons on the Sony,..... or something equally as pointless.

The only slight niggle I can give about the Sony is that IMO the Sub is a bit overpowering on the standard setting, i put the Tank scene from the end of Privte Ryan on as a test (which is what they use in the magazine review), when it comes past them the rumbling was so loud it was vibrating the Sofa and making me ill, i have now adjusted it down through the setup tool and think it's a lot better. Dont all shout at me....... I love bass but it was to dominant and drowned out some of the detail.

Because they are so close on performance I would save your money and get the Sony.

Hope that helps