Sony D3500 Series Thread

Discussion in 'Sony TVs Forum' started by ChrisGgr, Sep 5, 2007.

  1. ChrisGgr

    ChrisGgr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    14,742
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Greece
    Ratings:
    +1,499
    Sorry guys....the D3500 is 1080p full HD.Its available on 40" and 46".

    SPECS

    1080p 1920X1080
    1.800:1 on screen contrast ratio
    16.000:1 dynamic contrast ratio
    450cd/m2 brigthness
    S-FORCE front surround
    24p True Cinema
    2xHDMI

    FULL SPECS
    http://www.sony.co.uk/view/ShowProd...pe=Main&category=TVP+32-40+Sony+BRAVIA+TV#tab


    power saving low
    backlight 5 (was 3)
    picture mode: cinema
    contrast: 90 (was max)
    brightness: 48
    colour: 50
    sharpness: 5
    colour temp: neutral
    noise reduction off
    mpeg noise reduction off
    black corrector off
    advanced contrast enhancer - off
    gamma - low
    clear white off
    live colour off
    colour space standard

    with my service menu settings at:


    R Drive 272
    G Drive 244
    B Drive 220

    R BKG 508
    G BKG 507
    B BKG 497
    Thanks to micks address
     

    Attached Files:

  2. The Captain

    The Captain
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,092
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +17
    Sony have issues!

    Apart from the "Full HD", it's specs are worse than the D3000 (No MotionFlow and one less HDMI socket).

    What's the point?

    So Sony now have the D3000, D3500, V3000 and W3000 all have some of the following but not all:

    Motionflow (D3000 only)
    Full HD (D3500 & W3000)
    3 HDMI (D3000, V3000 & W3000)

    So basically you can't have motionflow unless you go for the X3000

    What is the difference between the V and D3500?????? - ONE EXTRA HDMI on the V!!!

    By the way , Chris, your site also has a 40"T and 40"P.....

    So there will be:

    D (3000 & 3500), T, P, V, W and not forgetting X and U?
     
  3. ChrisGgr

    ChrisGgr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    14,742
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Greece
    Ratings:
    +1,499
    The 40T3500 will be the basic 1080p model and will be cheap.It will be similar to the current W2000 series.The V3000 adds to the D3500 one HDMI more,the semi gloss design...
    The U3000 model will be the basic model,but much better than U2000
    So as I understand the product range will be

    26U3000-BASIC MODEL
    26P3000-MID RANGE
    26S3000-MID RANGE
    26T3000-BEST MODEL

    32U3000-BASIC MODEL
    32P3000-MID RANGE
    32S3000-MID RANGE-EXCELLENT
    32D3000-TOP MODEL

    37U3000-BASIC CHEAP 37"
    37P3000-MID 37"

    40U3000-BASIC
    40P3000-MID
    40S3000-MID-VERY GOOD
    40D3000-ENDS


    FULL HD

    40T3500-BASIC MODEL SIMILAR TO W2000
    40D3500-VERY GOOD 1080P MODEL
    40V3000-VERY GOOD WITH BETTER DESIGN&CONNECTIVITY
    40W300-EXCELLENT MODEL
    40X3000/X3500 FLAGSHIP MODEL
     
  4. luckystrike

    luckystrike
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Messages:
    191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    in your honest opinion chris what do you think is the best buy on 40inch i want to buy the tv NOW but cant decide ., is the d3500 and t3000 better than the d3000?
     
  5. ChrisGgr

    ChrisGgr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    14,742
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Greece
    Ratings:
    +1,499
    The T3500 will be similar to the W2000 on performance,so you can take something really better.If I remember well your needs are mainly SD so HD READY 100Hz,so clearly 40D3000.Go,because the stock runs out!!!!!
     
  6. Mickus

    Mickus
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    3,071
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    South East Kent
    Ratings:
    +332
    Sony are now doing 37"? That's interesting. Shame the models are limited in that size. A 37D3000 would be my perfect combination of size & features.
     
  7. mansell

    mansell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +39
    Too many models for me, Sony have seriously lost the plot IMO.
     
  8. ChrisGgr

    ChrisGgr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    14,742
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Greece
    Ratings:
    +1,499
    Not fully agree,because yes people may be confused by the ranges,but actually anyone can find the best tv that suits for him!!!!
     
  9. Mickus

    Mickus
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    3,071
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    South East Kent
    Ratings:
    +332
    I think Sony should drop the U series for all models & T series for the full HD sets. That would leave them with a decent low end model 'P series' a good all rounder with the 'S series' and a top end model of the 'D series'.

    The full HD sets naming conventions need some sort of system as well as it's confusing. Should just be V,W & X.
     
  10. ChrisGgr

    ChrisGgr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    14,742
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Greece
    Ratings:
    +1,499
    Yes,simply T3500 cover the price matter.It indents to be cheap!!!Also as you see sony tries to make all tv's full HD!!!In the new range there is NO 720p 46",and the 720p 40" are LESS than 1080p tv's!!!I suppose that next year all sony models on 40" will be 1080p!!!
     
  11. dietbruboy

    dietbruboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just discovered this model today... RW in Glasgow had ordered me a 40D3000U only to have a long chat with Sony putting them straight. No more D3000U are being dispatched and the replacement, the D3500 comes out at the end of October. No prices or specs were confirmed over the phone, but basically, weeks of choosing and reading up have came to nothing! Doh!
     
  12. se4me

    se4me
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have ordered the 40D3000 and is being delivered tomorrow morning !
    I have read quite a bit about this lcd on the forum and seems to be a good model for me as I mainly watch sd tv, this model hasn't been out for long why has it been discontinued ?
    Should I have waited for the next model D3500 as its due in a couple of weeks?
    Thanks guys, Chris.
     
  13. ChrisGgr

    ChrisGgr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    14,742
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Greece
    Ratings:
    +1,499
    Hi(we have the same name)!
    As you will watch mainly SD the D3000 is a better option because the D3500 as a full HD tv has not so good sd performance.Sony discontinued it because as we see she is planning to do all the 40"+ lcd's full hd
     
  14. Telemaddad

    Telemaddad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Lancaster
    Ratings:
    +13
    Don't worry about your new purchase. I ordered a 40" D3000 from Comet on sunday at the amazing price of £699 and collected from store the next day. I can honestly say that I'm amazed with the quality of both SD and DVD from the HDX870 recorder also purchased on Monday. I've been reluctant to swap my excellent Sony CRT for over 2 years now but now I wish I'd changed earlier. Sleep easy tonight - you'll love it!
     
  15. kingeasynow

    kingeasynow
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just to throw in a curve ball of sorts....

    Where do we feel the Sony V2900 model will fit in.

    It would appear it is a costco exclusive model (or something along those lines) and scheduled to be available on the 15th of October.

    Would we think that will the equivalent fo the V3000 with a slight design change, similar to the dixon & currys Samsung m86 series?
     
  16. ChrisGgr

    ChrisGgr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    14,742
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Greece
    Ratings:
    +1,499
    The V2900 is a similar to the V3000 model,not the D3500.
     
  17. kingeasynow

    kingeasynow
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought as much.

    Cheers.
     
  18. Rockboy uk

    Rockboy uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +7
    Just been looking for some more info on this set and found this on the Sony uk site:

    I was worried that this wasn't going to have a 10bit panel but it appears from this that it does. Odd that the supposedly better V3000 only has an 8bit panel though.
     
  19. ChrisGgr

    ChrisGgr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    14,742
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Greece
    Ratings:
    +1,499
    Maybe its again a mistake!
     
  20. xxEmmo

    xxEmmo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
  21. fade

    fade
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
  22. mark1000

    mark1000
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    5,936
    Products Owned:
    4
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +863
    Hi guys, does anyone have the 40d3500 yet and does it support 1920x1080 over vga, ( xbox360 ) manual says not, just 1360x768 as top rez.

    Mark.
     
  23. mark1000

    mark1000
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    5,936
    Products Owned:
    4
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +863
    Anyone.


    Mark.
     
  24. JediBUZ

    JediBUZ
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +9
  25. mark1000

    mark1000
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    5,936
    Products Owned:
    4
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +863
  26. JediBUZ

    JediBUZ
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +9
    Ah sorry mate. Well if no one's replied in a couple of days i'll let you know. Ordered mine today.
     
  27. mark1000

    mark1000
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    5,936
    Products Owned:
    4
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +863
    Thanks, i would really appreciate that, 1920x1080 over vga is a deal breaker for me, i'm looking for a replacement for my w3000 that just went back and am rapidly running out of options.


    Mark.
     
  28. CB2

    CB2
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tool delivery of my 3500 yesterday and I'm very impressed. Does anyone have a good set of settings for it yet? I've noticed a lot of other threads for other models but not this one. Thanks in advance. I've played around a bit but I'm pretty new to this so any help appreciated, especially for XBOX use with this model (currently using component cable).

    Cheers
     
  29. Pallaris

    Pallaris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Does this model have HDMI 1.3 inputs and does it support RGB FULL range via the PS3?

    I don't suppose anyone has tested this set for the dreaded colour smearing problem either? The specs for contrast are identical with the W3000 which has problems so i'm not sure if this set will be any better for it.
     
  30. JediBUZ

    JediBUZ
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +9
    I beleive it does support HDMI 1.3 and full RGB for PS3
     

Share This Page

Loading...