Sony Bravia ARC Sound Stopped Working over HDMI

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by Walter bishop, Jul 4, 2015.

  1. Walter bishop

    Walter bishop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi all,

    I've have had a Bravia KDL-55w829 connected to a HT-CT260 Soundbar through ARC HDMI with no issues for 6 months now but suddenly it has stopped working. The sound started dipping slightly then just went off mid programme.

    I cant for the life of me get it back working ok.
    • The Soundbar works for Bluetooth and optical.
    • The TV HDMI port works for PS4 etc
    Therefore the issue either must lie somewhere in the ARC connection....

    Can anyone help? It's driving me crazy!
     
  2. willvo84

    willvo84
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +80
    Have you got Sky HD box in the signal path? It caused issues for me w/ a Bravia TV ARC.

    Do a full reset on the telly; I did this the last time mine played up and it sorted it out, it's a quirk of different manufacturers implementation of HDMI handshake + ARC protocol I believe,

    Will
     
  3. Superleedsdub

    Superleedsdub
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2014
    Messages:
    257
    Products Owned:
    14
    Products Wanted:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    Ratings:
    +110
    I had a similar issue recently with my Samsung TV and my Marantz AVR, ARC suddenly stopped working. I tried all manner of setting changes, unplugging etc. and couldn`t get it back working. A month or so later it started working again and I have had no issues since. It seems that ARC is an unreliable feature that needs further development.
     
  4. daviomac

    daviomac
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    I too have had similar problems, my arc hdmi suddenly stopped working. I'm using a pioneer vxs923 and panasonic tx40cx680b.
    I'm wondering if recent firmware updates to both devices are to blame
     
  5. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,935
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,576
    Always worth ensuring all devices are running up to date firmware.

    You may need to default everything back to factory presets and go through the configuration process again to ensure CEC and ARC are operational.

    Joe
     
  6. daviomac

    daviomac
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    Many thanks for the good advice. I did reset the TV to no avail, but I would still need to do the amp. Both devices have the latest firmware.
    I have a gut feeling I created a conflict. I was watching Sky TV and paused the programme,to show a guest Netflix on TV. That was the point it went wrong. The more I read about the sound issues on HDMI arc it appears to be a common problem experienced by many people.i did talk to Pansonic, they told me I should not have been able to use arc in the first place, the reason being the receiver not being compatible. Well it did work, but I did find changing from TV sound to Home Cinema was problematic, that setting has now gone from the menu. I will reset the amp and see what happens.
    David
     
  7. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,935
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,576
    The AVR supports ARC - therefore should be compatible with any ARC enabled Display.

    Panasonic trying to wriggle out of what can be a tough problem to Tech Support!

    Joe
     
  8. daviomac

    daviomac
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    When I called Panasonic,I was pretty sure I was put through to call centre abroad and I think they are working from scripts and manuals. I was giving them the answers to their questions before they asked them!
     
  9. daviomac

    daviomac
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    I have now found the answer to my HDMI arc problem, the culprit was my PS3. I disconnected the PS3 from my system and low and behold, arc worked and also Veira link.
    What I have done with the PS3 is used an optical lead to the av receiver for sound and HDMI direct to HDMI 3 on the TV.
    I'm not sure why PS3 caused the problem in the first place.
    But it's something to bear in mind.
     
  10. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,935
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,576
    Try connecting the AV System to a non-ARC Input on the TV - you may find you can then reconnect the PS3 via HDMI.

    Power everything off at the wall before you disconnect/connect any HDMI cables.

    Joe
     

Share This Page

Loading...