sony bleedthrough

Discussion in 'Sony TVs Forum' started by saleens351, Jan 30, 2009.

  1. saleens351

    saleens351
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All
    Have a problem with sony 40w4000 faint bleed from another ch,while waching v cable ??

    have sony40w4000-sony dvr 890-samsung smt 2100c

    all set up as on the dvdr forum on this site,

    thanks
     
  2. Orbitalzone

    Orbitalzone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    394
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    E.Sussex
    Ratings:
    +43
    Is this via a scart lead?

    If so, scart leads can be problematic - the TV's own internal tuner signal is output on the scarts at all times, so even when viewing scart 1 input, there is a signal fed out of that same scart socket.... this signal can be picked up in the cabling of the scart lead and fed back in along with the signal you want... resulting in faint, sometimes floating or snowy images in the background and sometimes faint audio breakthrough as well.

    TO check this see if the interference is the same as the channel the TV was last on, or switch both freeview and analogue channels to blank channels and see if the problem is removed/reduced.

    The same issue could apply to scarts connecting DVD to TV to VHS or to Sky or cable etc.

    Using double screened scart leads (the thicker sort) usually sorts this out and there's no need to buy expensive leads.

    The cheap option is to cut pin 19 wire in the scart plug that goes into the TV (that's the video out lead) but this makes the lead a 1 way only so must be plugged in the 'right' way.

    Search for 'scart crosstalk' or 'scart pin 19' and you'll see many suggestions for what sounds like your problem...

    eg:
    http://www.avforums.com/forums/dvd-...sony-770-interference-blank-black-screen.html
    http://www.satcure.co.uk/tech/scarts2.htm
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2009
  3. saleens351

    saleens351
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    ok thanks for the info,yes it is scart, have HDMI cable but not used yet as it took me forever to get all this to work but will try the things you mentioned in the answer you gave.

    thanks
    john
     
  4. Orbitalzone

    Orbitalzone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    394
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    E.Sussex
    Ratings:
    +43
    If you've got a spare cheapy scart lead kicking about, why not cut pin19 cable at one end and plug it between the TV and cable box and see if it makes a difference?

    No point potentially ruining your decent scart cables!

    Note that many scart plug pins can be carefully pushed back (and pulled out)- each pin has a little tag that stops the pin pushing out when inserted into socket... using a pin or thin screwdriver blade you can often gently prise the pin out from the plug and tape it up... then it can be refitted (having re-bent the retainer tag) if required.
     
  5. saleens351

    saleens351
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    ok i will try that but will i have any probs with recording ?

    thanks
    john
     
  6. Orbitalzone

    Orbitalzone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    394
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    E.Sussex
    Ratings:
    +43
    only if you record signal coming OUT from the TV (which few people do) so do you have to have the TV switched on to record? generally you don't so in that case this mod won't affect things.
     
  7. saleens351

    saleens351
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Orbitalzone
    ok just had chance to remove pin 19
    it worked great like a new tv should be,every think else works as it did,

    thank you for the info,

    john
     
  8. Orbitalzone

    Orbitalzone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    394
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    E.Sussex
    Ratings:
    +43
    Glad it worked out....might be worth putting a label on the scart lead as it will only work one way round (if you unplug it and swap ends around you'll get no picture but sound!!)
     

Share This Page

Loading...