Sony BDPS300B Blu-ray Disc Player

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by guitardave, Sep 8, 2007.

  1. JEDIBLADE

    JEDIBLADE
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,722
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +169
    Can anyone confirm if all BDPS300B's come with the spiderman triolgy offer?
     
  2. Avi

    Avi
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    13,963
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,064
    There are several stickers on the box of the unit I had re this offer. You need to register online and provide details of the serial no and where you purchased. It says allow 28 days for delivery following the movie release.

    AVI
     
  3. JonStatt

    JonStatt
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,352
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +445
    When I registered linking from the enclosed CD ROM, there was no mention of the Spiderman offer on the registration page itself. So I assume that I have registered in the right place, in the right way to get the Spiderman discs.
     
  4. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,276
    So AVI, did you 'claim yours'? ;)
     
  5. JonStatt

    JonStatt
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,352
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +445
    Well done, it is a good unit..enjoy! It can be had for cheaper than that if you do a search. My local Sony Centre agreed to do rock bottom by selling it to me for 320. Although most of the Sony Centre's around London are owned by the same company (Shasonic), some of them are willing to negotiate while others aren't which is a bit strange.
     
  6. TechieSarah

    TechieSarah
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +218
    I already posted about Spiderman movies, there is a discrepancy as the free offer states clearly it only involves BDP-S300's registered after October 15th not before.

    I quizzed sony via telephone who gave me an non-assuring it also involves players regsitered before.

    Will have to wait.
     
  7. Avi

    Avi
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    13,963
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,064
  8. Avi

    Avi
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    13,963
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,064
  9. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +263
    Will they send the free discs to a UK (non US) address?
     
  10. JonStatt

    JonStatt
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,352
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +445

    Jeff, this is a UK (+ rest of EUrope I believe) offer. So if you buy a UK BDP-S300, you will get the Spiderman discs to a UK address.
     
  11. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +263
    :thumbsup:
     
  12. JEDIBLADE

    JEDIBLADE
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,722
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +169
    Not sure if its been answered on here but can the 300 output uncompressed PCM soundtracks through it's HDMI?
     
  13. Avi

    Avi
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    13,963
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,064

    Yes.

    AVI
     
  14. JEDIBLADE

    JEDIBLADE
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,722
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +169
    I've just got the 300 home and its working great, how wil i know when there's a firmware update?
     
  15. BadAss

    BadAss
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,967
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +182
    Check you need one first. :smashin:

     
  16. JEDIBLADE

    JEDIBLADE
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,722
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +169
    The current firmware version on my 300 is 2.10
     
  17. JonStatt

    JonStatt
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,352
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +445
  18. JEDIBLADE

    JEDIBLADE
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,722
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +169
    I've downloaded the firmware update file but my burning software Nero 7 won't burn it onto a disc as an image(this is what is says to do in the information). Any ideas?
     
  19. JonStatt

    JonStatt
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,352
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +445
  20. JEDIBLADE

    JEDIBLADE
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,722
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +169
    I bought mine from digital point, in the offers section on top of the forums. £309 inc next day delivery.
     
  21. TechieSarah

    TechieSarah
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +218
    I can also confirm that the us FIRMWARE update 2.6 worked on my BDP-S300 without altering region settings.

    Thanks to the brave soul who tried this before me. Thought for a second i was gonna have to buy a new player if it didn't work.
     
  22. JonStatt

    JonStatt
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,352
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +445
    Hehe...perhaps I am brave..or perhaps I was stupid! :)

    Seriously though, I thought it very unlikely it would fry the player trying and the most likely outcome was that it would tell me the firmware wasn't suitable for this player. I was actually surprised it accepted the disc and updated.

    Sony have not replied to me complaining that their information on the Sony website is misleading and false advertising, concerning TrueHD. I may have to approach them in a stronger way.

    I like the BDP-S300B but I still feel frustrated they won't put TrueHD encoding into it, even though it can do it, simply because they want to justify their S500 model and make everyone pay for a poxy motorised sliding door.
     
  23. markymiles

    markymiles
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    6,135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Caterham
    Ratings:
    +2,653
    Can anyone check that this player does definitely output actual uncompressed PCM ie from Casino Royale via it's analogue outputs. Can't remember which review I read but it said that it downmixes via the analogue outputs for all newer higher bit rate formats. Hopefully that was jst DTS-HD and True HD.

    Desperate to try any of the newer sound formats but don't have HDMI equipped Amp.
     
  24. JonStatt

    JonStatt
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,352
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +445
    Let me put your mind at rest. It definitely does output the full bandwidth audio originating from an uncompressed PCM at the 5.1 analogue outs.

    The issue is only with TrueHD and DTS-HD whereby you get a downmix conversion.

    For now the number of discs that only have TrueHD and no PCM are very very small (maybe 2?!)....this could change in the future though. The number of discs that have DTS HD MA are quite high, as this applies to Fox titles, and there is no PCM on them....but then for now, no blu-ray player decodes this internally. This is why the BDP-S300 should be the maximum you should spend on a player for now unless you have a receiver that can decode, in which case the S500 is a better bet......and then there is the whole 1.1 / 2.0 profile issue.
     
  25. Brock Landers

    Brock Landers
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    We've all heard that blu ray players can be sluggish,but what about its performance when watching regular dvds?
     
  26. Mike_Kirby

    Mike_Kirby
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've just bought the BDP-S300 and note that the firmware is 2.10.

    Does anyone know what changes are effected by installing the US 2.60 firmware update?

    Has anyone noted any adverse effects from installing the US update on a European machine?

    Many thanks.
     
  27. JonStatt

    JonStatt
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,352
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +445
    Unfortuantely I cannot answer this very well as I will never use this player for DVDs. But I did test one just to make sure it worked, and it didn't seem particularly sluggish to me...but it didn't feel as sharp in terms of responsiveness as my DVD player. Hopefully someone else can comment on this aspect.
     
  28. JonStatt

    JonStatt
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,352
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +445
    Well, no manufacturer ever discloses everything they fixed. The only public note they made about it was improving the responsiveness of Java discs such as Pirates of the Carribean. Users have found that it has made a very large improvement in terms of responsiveness once the disc eventually loads in. Other than that, hopefully there are other improvements that will less likely trigger crashes etc. Some have noticed crashes if you are doing pause, rewind, slow mo, pause type combinations with older firmware versions.

    As for adverse effects....none noticed so far. My belief is that it is not a US firmware on a European player. It is just a BDP-S300 firmware which is used internationally. The region coding etc seem to be stored somewhere else on the player.
     
  29. Avi

    Avi
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    13,963
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,064
    Brock

    It was OK provided the player was already powered on. If it's powered off you will need to wait around 45 seconds before you can load the disc.

    AVI
     
  30. Brock Landers

    Brock Landers
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Avi!
     

Share This Page

Loading...