Sony A350 lenses

Chwadan

Standard Member
Hi, I'm buying a DSLR for work, which will mainly involve taking photos of people (often from afar and in badly-lit areas e.g. churches - great!).

I'm pretty new to photography and after handling one in a shop, I've decided to go for a Sony alpha A350. I'm not sure what to do as regards lenses though. The standard kit lens is an 18-70mm f/3.5-5.6 but it's also available from Jessops with an extra 55-200mm lens for £70 more. Is it worth going for (a) both kit lenses (b) just the the 18-70mm or (c) just getting the body and investing in one decent lens (possibly with IS)? If the last option - any suggestions? Yikes :rolleyes:

rodman

have u tried sony a300 which is £100 cheaper? U dont need IS lens for sony, sony bodies got image stabilisation build in! :):thumbsup:

Chwadan

Standard Member
Hmm, no - haven't tried A300. Might give it a go when I go back to the shop! I've heard that IS is better when it's built into the lens - presumably you can use the lens IS if you've got in-body IS too?

Mike.P®

If you want it for taking pictures from afar in badly lit areas I would buy the body and then a decentish fast f2.8 zoom such as the Sigma or Tamron 70-200mm f2.8.

eduk

Distinguished Member
Hmm, no - haven't tried A300. Might give it a go when I go back to the shop! I've heard that IS is better when it's built into the lens - presumably you can use the lens IS if you've got in-body IS too?

Spend the money saved by not getting the A350 towards a good lens like Mike.P said. It's all about the lens. If you don't need liveview, you might even get the cheaper A200 as it's the same as the A300 but no liveview.

IS is not available nor required on Sony mount lenses. If anybody says that IS is better in the lens, then they are simply repeating the same old nonsense spread around the web, one of the camera sites/mags proved it to be a myth, but it still gets said :rolleyes:

Yandros