1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony 800 box audio output?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by James45, Dec 8, 2003.

1. James45

James45
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I want to hook up my new Sony Freeview box to my amp, what cable do I need (only ask as I've never used optical before).

the output looks like a standard mini-jack but the manual says I can use an optical lead.

Can I use an optical - optical lead? or does it have to be a mini-jack - optical lead?

2. ancientgeek

ancientgeek

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is possible to get optical leads with a minijack-like connector instead of the usual one. Maybe this is what you need. Or maybe you wren't looking at the optical-out.

Optical out will normally have a tiny trapdoor to keep the dust out. With the box switched on, you will see a red-LED glow when you open the door.

3. AOD

AOD

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    You probably need a cable like this one.

Mini toslink to toslink

Most optical cables have the traditional "square" style toslink ends, but this one goes from the "mini-jack" style Toslink to the proper square one.

The lead is entirely optical, it just has different connections at either end.

4. James45

James45
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I didn't see the square 'optical' plug so that's what initially threw me, but a mini-toslink - toslink connection makes much more sense and I think that must be the one i need, once again Sony manuals being less than hopeless.

Thanks!:smashin:

5. James45

James45
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0