1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony 510 & Sky+

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Red1989, Oct 27, 2005.

  1. Red1989

    Red1989
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Connections problem/question!

    when connecting the sony 510 to the sky+ box i wanted to go from the tv scart socket (RGB) to the 510 line in (3). however, the sony manual says that for bskyb tuners you have to connect from the vcr scart socket (not RGB out).

    Having tried it, the set up wont work if you go from the tv scart. Am i missing something or does this mean its only possible to record on to dvd from sky+ at non-RGB scart performance?

    any ideas or anyone with the same set up?

    red
     
  2. johnmccoy

    johnmccoy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ballynahinch
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm.. Don't know why you are having problems with this. I have the exact same setup, scart from TV out on Sky+ to Line 3 on back of 510 (RGB turned on on both devices), scart from 510 out to TV. I get perfect RGB at the TV even when Sony is in standby.
    Is the line3 input on the Sony setup correctly - I'm at work so can't look up how this is done but I seem to remember that you have to setup the input mode in the system menu on the Sony.
     
  3. Red1989

    Red1989
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for that, at least i know its possible. i will take another look this evening...
     
  4. Supersonic

    Supersonic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    810
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +50
    I have a similar set-up, my ntl 'tv' scart socket goes into Line3 in on the 510 and the Sony records and passes through RGB fine - even in standby as johnmccoy says.

    If you have the component out set to 'on' or Auto (i.e. not off), it won't let you do RGB out to the TV though.
     
  5. Red1989

    Red1989
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    all working. thanks...
     
  6. pjskel

    pjskel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +124
    The correct method of connection should be Sky+ (SCART) TV and Sky+ (SCART 2) DVDR (SCART) TV.
    Then RF Sky+ to TV to watch 1-5 while recording in RGB any other channel.
     

Share This Page

Loading...