1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony 32FX66 widescreen settings

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by neilybealy, Feb 24, 2003.

  1. neilybealy

    neilybealy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,539
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +55
    hi all

    i'm a little confused (not hard i know)

    my old panansonic i just left on auto and when a widescreen prog was broadcast on channel 4 it changed to fill the screen and "wide" was displayed in blue

    on the sony you've got smart and wide and i'm not too sure the difference as on some programs some of the screen either top or bottom is chopped off

    cheers

    neil
     
  2. MattDX

    MattDX
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Smart 'diddles' the screen so non WS images appear WS but not streched. You'll lose a little bit at the top and bottom. Wide is for images that are 16:9 (DVD, Consoles etc) this setting on a non WS image will stretch it making people look fat and wide.
     
  3. neilybealy

    neilybealy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,539
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +55
    ok cheers

    it doesn't look like it's going to be as friendly as my old panasonic then as i just used to leave it on auto
     
  4. MattDX

    MattDX
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Doesn't the Sony have an Auto setting. Mine's still in the box :( but I've read the manual and think I saw an auto setting.
     
  5. neilybealy

    neilybealy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,539
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +55
    hi again

    this is what i'm confused about....

    in the menu somewhere there's an auto setting but then when you press the widescreen button it switches between the smart zoom 4:3 wide etc settings

    on my old panny one of the settings was AUTO which was easy !

    neil

    :D
     
  6. HowieC

    HowieC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    249
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Select auto format to ON
    Switch to a 4:3 programme and use the blue button to select 4:3 mode if not already set.
    TV should now switch automatically between 4:3 and widescreen, you only need the blue button if you want to switch to another format manually.
     
  7. bobones

    bobones
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    453
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Say I want all 4:3 displayed using "Smart" all the time and all widescreen using "Wide". Can this be done? It seems I have to switch from 4:3 to Smart on each channel, but after a while it seems to remember I want "smart" on a particular channel.
     
  8. Lesmond

    Lesmond
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I think the Sony remembers your last manually set picture mode for each channel.

    If you prefer the 'smart' mode, you should turn the the auto format feature off, visit each channel and select the smart mode. I think even when you do this, if an anamorphic DVD is being played, the TV will still switch to widescreen mode if required.
     
  9. bobones

    bobones
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    453
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Cheers Lesmond. Switching autoformat off does the trick. Now 4:3 material from my freeview box is always shown using Smart but the tv still automatically switches when a channel shows a widescreen presentation. :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...