1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony 1080 mains socket

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by bob1, Nov 27, 2004.

Tags:
  1. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,458
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +131
    Hello i went to connect my bfd to the switched socket on the back of the amp and found that i didn't have a plug to fit.As anyone got any ideas of what it is and where i might get one.
    Thanks Bob1.
     
  2. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,651
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +302
    Maplin or CPC.
     
  3. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,458
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +131
    Thanks Lynx, i think its a euro plug that i need .Just my luck i think its the plug i cut off the lead for the svs. :mad:
     
  4. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,651
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +302
    You can buy rewireble plugs/sockets from CPC that will allow you to make up your own spec and cable length.If i find a part number i'll post it later.
     
  5. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,458
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +131
    Thanks ,is it a euro plug?
     
  6. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,651
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +302
  7. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,458
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +131
    Its nothing like an IEC plug take a look here :confused: ,i'm getting a bit lost now ,do you have a sony amp lynx and does it have the 2pin powered oulet on the back.
     
  8. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,651
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +302
    Sorry, i linked to the wrong thing. Yes i have a Sony reciever and it's a 2 pin socket on the rear of the amp. Back to plan 'a', i'll look out the part number of the item i got and post it later.
     
  9. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,458
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +131
    Thats a releif ,is the plug i linked too the right one.It looks like i'm going to have to pay £4.50 for a 49p plug. :rolleyes:
     
  10. Markie Boy

    Markie Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,260
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia (Originally Ireland)
    Ratings:
    +226
    What are you gonna plug into that switched outlet on the Sony? Its only capable of taking fairly easy loads (usually nothing more than 100 Watts).
     
  11. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,458
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +131
    A bfd with a 10w load .I know the limtations of the socket i'm just not 100% shure of the type it is.
     
  12. Markie Boy

    Markie Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,260
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia (Originally Ireland)
    Ratings:
    +226
    It accepts a Euro 2-pin round plug. I use mine on my STRDB1070 amp.
     
  13. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,458
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +131
    Do you know where i could get one from? It seems i can get one over the net but everyone want to charge more than the plug for delivery etc.

    Just been to local electrical shop ,it went like this.

    Me "Hello do you sell euro plugs ,the 2 pin type"
    Man in shop " you want one of these a euro adptor"
    Me "No i need the plug not the adaptor"
    Man in shop :confused:
    Me :rolleyes:

    :laugh:
     
  14. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,458
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +131
    I don't see how mine could use one as its not round.
     
  15. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Don't think amps accept the round ones, usually the hexagonal ones. The only one I've found is that which lynx links :)laugh: ) to at CPC.

    I've been looking into this myself and can't find any information on it anywhere!
     
  16. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,458
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +131
    I have orderd a plug from cpc ,just hope its the right one.
     
  17. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,458
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +131
    This was the right plug ,works a treat,was a bit hard to push the 3 core wire in though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...