1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony 1080 & Elac Cinema 1?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by pingtuk, Feb 19, 2003.

Tags:
  1. pingtuk

pingtuk
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I'm new to these forums and I am a bit of a newbie. I need to help on deciding whether to get to the Sony 1080 receiver & the Elac Cinema 1 sub/sats or not.

I've decided that my current sound system the Videologic Digitheatre is not good enough to suit my needs. That and the fact they keep on powering off after a few hours of use. I've already had them replaced and they do the exact same thing. Not sure what the problem is there but anyway my budget is around £700-800 which is why i think the Sony & Elac is a nice combination at a good price.

My current setup is this :

Videologic Digitheatre DTS
    Sony 24" Widescreen TV
    Sony 725D DVD player
    Aiwa VCR
    Playstation 2
    Gamecube
    Nokia Mediamaster 221T Digital Reciever

The Videologic lacks too few inputs and I intend to use the s-video inputs in the Sony 1080 too. So here are my questions :

What is the s-video quality and the switching like on the Sony 1080? (as i intend to use them for the PS2 and Gamecube)
    So just how good is the Sony 1080?
    Are there any other good receivers in this price range?
    And do the Elac Cinema 1 accompany the Sony 1080 well?
    How about other sub/sats in the same price range? Ones with small sats for easier placement?

Thanks for any help in advance.

2. sounddog

sounddog

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +461
    Also worth considering are the Tannoy FX 5.1 sub/sat package ... this is meant to be good for the money (£350 from www.HiFiBitz.co.uk)

3. Bogside

Bogside

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +366