Sonos

Discussion in 'Music Streamers' started by Ad22uk, Dec 28, 2011.

  1. Ad22uk

    Ad22uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Messages:
    590
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Benfleet, Essex
    Ratings:
    +22
    Hi Guys

    Recently bought a Sonos Play 3 and so impressed with it just bought a few more toys,

    Zp120
    Zp90
    Play 5

    Im now wanting to add more zones, so the play 3 is coming out the kitchen and being moved to the bedroom

    Play 5 will be in kitchen

    I would like to add some ceiling speakers to the bathroom and was thinking of some weather proof speakers for the garden.

    Can i use the zp90 to my old denon amp via optical to power the speakers in one of the zone's?

    Is that how it works or would i need another zp120?

    :confused:

    Ad
     
  2. amcluesent

    amcluesent
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    5,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +1,167
  3. larkone

    larkone
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,807
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    North Essex
    Ratings:
    +835
    Your old Denon amp and optical connection - If you are using a digital source with any of the secondary zones in an av amp it will not work as these only work with analogue sources. It would only work if you used the main zone.
     
  4. Ad22uk

    Ad22uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Messages:
    590
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Benfleet, Essex
    Ratings:
    +22
    Cheers guys got the rest of the sonos kit today and the zp90 working fine off the av amp powering some floor standing speakers can you switch between two set of speakers on the av amp wondered if i could switch between the garden speakers off the av amp?

    Amp has a switch for speaker A/B
     
  5. therixonator

    therixonator
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +41
    That will work fine so long as you can run speaker cable to that destination, and you don't mind having the same source in both zones. Its a much cheaper option than buying another zone player.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice