Sonos arc or Bose system advice

styb

Novice Member
Hi,

Forgive me as I’m not too technical but was after some advice regarding a home sound system Or bar

Bascially looking to tidy up our home entertainment system (Mrs orders) for the living room and currentply have a Yamaha unit with wharfdale speakers wired for surround sound, which has been great over the years.

I am having to go wireless, and was looking through the various options, one being the Sonos Arc sound bar which seems to get such great reviews(plus looks neat wall mounted under tv) rather than spending a lot more on a Bose system with wireless surround speakers. I understand going for the sub makes an even bigger difference to the arc.

So my question.....

My TV is an 55 LG OLED (B8)slc which has ARC but not eARC, would I be wasting money going for that when the TV can’t have Dolby atmos (so I’m told) or am I not that likely to notice much of a difference? (being your average guy and not someone that would say notice unique difference in sounds quality in say headphones for example)

Thanks in advance 👍

Greyman43

My understanding is that regular ARC is capable of a compressed version of ATMOS but not all TV’s have the software to decode it via pass through so you’ll need to check that.

Uncompressed ATMOS is only generally available on UHD Blurays or rips of those, I’m not convinced any soundbar is going to be capable of highlighting much difference between the two in all honesty.

Definitely get a sub whatever you buy IMO!

styb

Novice Member
My understanding is that regular ARC is capable of a compressed version of ATMOS but not all TV’s have the software to decode it via pass through so you’ll need to check that.

Uncompressed ATMOS is only generally available on UHD Blurays or rips of those, I’m not convinced any soundbar is going to be capable of highlighting much difference between the two in all honesty.

Definitely get a sub whatever you buy IMO!

Thank you for the response,