1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sonic Stage and WMA?

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by loser, Jun 9, 2005.

  1. loser

    loser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does sonicstage support any WMA whther protected or not? If not can anyone suggest something to convert it?? and is it possible to unprotect it by converting it?
     
  2. loser

    loser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I found this:

    Q4 : Which WMA file format is supported in SonicStage?

    As WMA file has no limitations, it can be imported into My Library and played-back on SonicStage. However, there are some limitations for transferring to a device/media. Only the WMA files that meet the following criteria can be converted to OpenMG form(ATRAC3plus/ATRAC3) and transferred to a device/media.
    bit rate: 32~320kbps(except VBR(Variable bit rate))
    linear PCM 16bit
    sampling frequency: 44.1kHz
    stereo
    WMA files which are copy/copyright protected

    on sony's website but it doesn't mean anything to me :(
     
  3. watchinthewheel

    watchinthewheel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i doubt it will transfer them, the hd1/3/5 only support atrac and mp3 and wma cant be changed file type easily (it can be done) i doubt ss will let you, give it a go but i doubt it.
     
  4. loser

    loser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    problem is they don't even import into it
     
  5. watchinthewheel

    watchinthewheel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i didnt think you would be able to, if you want ill tell you how change the wmas to mp3 so you can actualy do what you want with music you have paid for, i hate that system!
     
  6. loser

    loser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    if you could that would be great!! :clap:
     
  7. KeanosMagicHat

    KeanosMagicHat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    4,551
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    England, UK.
    Ratings:
    +554
    Within the NW-HD5H specification on Sony Style it says ...

    "Compatible format ATRAC3plus, ATRAC3, MP3, WMA, WAV"

    The extract below from the SS help file also implies that they can be coverted to ATRAC format.

    "WMA format music files (Windows Media Technology compliant music files) How to import WMA format music files into My Library:
    Importing WMA format music files stored on your hard disk into My Library.
    Note
    In order to playback WMA format music files, Windows Media Player Version 7.0 (or later) must be installed on your computer.
    When converting the WMA format music files to OpenMG Audio format *
    When importing music files into My Library, only WMA format music files with the following characteristics can be converted to OpenMG Audio format.
    16 bit
    44.1 kHz sampling frequency
    Stereo format
    Note
    WMT compliant music files with copyright protection cannot be converted to OpenMG format.
    To play a music file that uses the copyright-protection WMA Lossless format, Windows XP or later is required."

    EDIT - The asterisked text is "* When you transfer WAV, MP3, and WMA format music files to a device/media, you might need to convert these files to OpenMG Audio format, depending on the device. "
     
  8. loser

    loser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm going to burn the protected Wma onto a CD-RW and then rip it in a another format. and convertthe non-protected with a converter off the net if anyone wanted to know...it will work won't it??
     
  9. mcfarfs

    mcfarfs
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,367
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Ratings:
    +12
    Yeh it will work.

    Rip it into ATRAC in SS, or MP3. Don't rip it back into WMA.
     
  10. loser

    loser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, so I've convertedit all, took a while but hey. However, the bts I converted with a converter instead of onto Cd then off again don't have labels except the name of the song. I import these into SS and itsays the importing is done. Problem is that I can't find them after that... any suggestions?
     

Share This Page

Loading...