1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Someone cure my AV buying addiction! (and thoughts on integrated vs pre|power combo)

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Smurfin, Aug 4, 2003.

1. Smurfin

Smurfin

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3,837
    Ok I'll warn you now this will be a bit of a meandering post, with likely poor descriptions. I'm no expert on AV, so forgive me if I make a incorrect comments along the way!

It seems only a few weeks ago now that I was looking at my system and thinking "hmm I'm not happy." I put my thoughts on it into a separate thread, but in summary I felt "tired" of the sound of my front sound stage, and wanted smoother integration between my mains and centre speaker. I also wanted standmounts as opposed to floorstanders (huge speakers don't float my boat like they used to, I think that opinions changed as my hair's started turning grey)

The kit in my set-up was as follows:

Sanyo PLV-Z1 projector
    Yamaha DSP-A1 amp
    Skyworth 1050p DVD player
    Mission 775e mains
    Mission 77c1 centre
    Mission 77ds rears
    Paradigm Servo 15 subwoofer

I've always had Yamaha amps, and bar one foray into Wharefdale territory I've always had Mission speakers.

Taking my usual stance of evaluating the market carefully and demoing all suitable speaker types (yeah right :p) within days I placed an order with Eric for 3 x M&K MPS1510s. I didn't buy them totally blind (just almost) as I'd heard them some time ago at Ian Js. What I remembered (and indeed what various people on these forums have said), is that they offer excellent imaging, and produced a clear, uncoloured accurate sound.