Some very basic questions from a total newbie to Android

LiquidAssFrance

Standard Member
Reaction score
Please excuse me for what may seem to be questions that are outright stupid. I have never owned a mobile phone and don't want one so lots of the stuff found in my new Android TV box leaves me somewhat perplexed. I am an intermediate user with a Windows PC but that has little relation to Android so maybe someone can assist me with the following:

1. root in my box has a default setting of disabled but it can be enabled. What is root and what benefit is there in enabling it?
2. What is CEC?
3. What is Daydream?

Rather than connecting it to a TV, I am running it through a Bose Lifestyle V35 system which in turn is connected to an XGIMI H3 projector. The projector is also Android based running Android 8.1. The TV box, a Ugoos AM6 Plus runs Android 9.0 Pie. This brings up further questions:

4. the projector is 3D compatible. If the TV box, with my NAS connected to it has a 3D signal running through it, can I assume that it will not be decoded prior to reaching the projector?
5. The TV box runs all versions of Dolby including Atmos but the Boses system is only 5.1 and will not recognize Dolby Atmos. Is there something I need to do in Android's settings in order to transform the Atmos soundtrack to ordinary 5.1 surround sound?
6. Finally, my previous player was a Mede8er X6003D and it is that which is probably causing much of my confusion. The person who sold me the AM6 tells me that even though I can connect my NAS to it, it is NOT a movie player (the Mede8er was). So, am I to understand that I need to install an application like Kodi or Plex to:
a) play my movies, and
b) search for subtitles?

Last edited:
1. Root, not sure, but you won't need it
2.CEC allows your tv remote to control other devices
3. Daydream, sort of screensaver?
4. Don't know,Kodi has 3D settings, not sure if this will get 3D on the tv
5. don't know