Question Some Stereo Advice for a complete novice please

Fat_Tony

Distinguished Member
Hi folks

Ill start by saying I know nothing about car stereos, so keep that in mind when answering please :)

I picked up an old Zafira last year to fit my surfboards in, it was all good until I got a new stereo from ebay. I paid a local lad who claimed to have worked in Halfords to fit it for me as I live very rurally and wouldnt have much choice.

There was a few inital teething problems (with the reverse cam not working properly) but he got it all sorted and I left happy that all was working.

Usually the car would be used daily, but whenever it sat for a few days the battery would drain entirely. I bought a new battery a few months ago but thats not fixed the problem. After its drained I have to connect a charger for about 12 hours to get it going again.

As I say, I know nothing about stereos (or cars for that matter lol) but im fairly sure the stereo is the issue.

Is it as simple as removing some fuses to completely remove the stereo from the equasion? Ill get it repaired properly once all this lockdown is over but until then I would like to try and determine if its ok once the stereo isnt involved. When ive googled the problem I keep reading about a "parasitic drain" which sounds accurate. Ive already ensured no internal lights were on, nothing plugged into the lighter socket

Fuse number 35 is listed as the infotainment system so that was going to be my starting point

Any tips, suggestions or warnings I need to consider?

Thanks

Unfortunately with an aftermarket install it is impossible to stay to which wires the installer connected it and thus to which fuse it is connected.

If you know electrics then a car or radio is not that different, and with a multi-meter and a bit of patience and testing the culprit can be found. I do suspect it is the new stereo, but the way it was wired in;

Only one way to find out where fuse 35 is taking the power away from it :)