1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

some HCPC questions, sorry I'm new to this

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Threadkiller, Aug 23, 2002.

1. Threadkiller

Threadkiller
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've read through the threads & there are still a few questions that I can't find answers to. Appologies if they've been answered a thousand times before. Currently I run a pioneer 525 with an svid cable directly to a panasonic LC75e, and I'm considering going the HCPC route

When I play back a dvd at he moment on my PC it jerks, does a dedicated pc run software to buffer the playback to prevent this?

Do you connect the pC to the Projector via RGB 15 way D type as you would a monitor, or via another method?

Do you need a dual head (currently have a G450) or will a single do?

Thanks

2. Gary Lightfoot

Gary Lightfoot
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,114
    You need a half decent processor to play DVDs without jerkyness, and something like an AMD 950 Duron should be fine (it's what I'm using).

Curently the best video card is a Radeon, and 3rd party ones can be found very cheaply. Under £30 is not unusual. Some radeons have dual output, but the DVD playback will only go to the primary display IIRC. I've never used the 2nd output on mine, but it's a good idea to be able to use a monitor to setup the pc so you don't waste the projector lamp.

Yes, you connect the projector to the pc in the same way you would a monitor using the 15pin D sub conector.

What other components are you using? You can build a basic HTPC for around £300 and you won't notice much of an improvement spending a lot more.

HTH

Gary.

3. Threadkiller

Threadkiller
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the reply,