• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Some general information please

billybug

Standard Member
I'm a newbie at this and have just bought a decent plasma tv, and the next step is to upgrade and get a better DVD player.

Firstly - whats the difference between Blu Ray or HD DVD and a standard DVD player that utilises HDMI - such as a top end panasonic one?

Bald Monkey

Distinguished Member
Blu-ray and HD DVD are both 'next gen' High Definition formats. Both have native 1080 HD images and the ability to include HD audio tracks too..

Standard Upscaling DVD players, offer a good picture from SD DVD's but it is still SD and will never equal HD quality in video or audio.

Most High Def players such as the PS3 (BR) and Toshiba XE1 (HD DVD) offer the same upscaling ability as upscaling SD players, in fact many offer very good SD upscaling.. at least equalling a SD player of a similar price or even more expensive ones.

However unlike SD DVD players, very few are capable of playing Sd DVD's from all regions and will be region coded for SD DVD's.

billybug

Standard Member
Right, so even with a very good upscaling DVD player, it will never match what a Blu ray or HD DVD player.

How far from that picture quality will it be?

Fianally - how much better will the upscalling DVD player be than a standard DVD player (with no upscalling)?
I.E. is it worth getting one?

tv's upscale any way so it would depend on the quality of both the dvd player and the tv. a good tv will upscale with better results than a bad dvd player would

The quick, and simple answer that I will give you is get a PS3. It does all that you are asking.

Avi

Distinguished Member
How far from that picture quality will it be?