1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Some Cat5 help please! (And other random Q's)

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by ZAP263, Aug 20, 2005.

  1. ZAP263

    ZAP263
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I HAVE read the pinned topics and the links about Cat5 too and done a lot of searching but I am struggling to find good tutorials for Cat5 speaker cables. I am a newbie and am not a big audiophile but if using good speaker cable is going to make a large difference over the bell wire then I might as well make the investment!

    Can anyone please help me out here? In total, for my room I need only about 25metres of cable MAX for all satellites and the sub included so how many metres of Cat5 would I need in total?. I have seen many websites and tutorials but they are all so confusing. I would really appreciate it someone could point me to a good step-by-step tutorials.

    Also, I see a lot about people spending 50 quid on scart cables. Do expensive scarts really make that much of a difference? The cart i'm using right now is a cheapo one from poundland!
     
  2. Knightshade

    Knightshade
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +43
    Hi Zap,
    There's a link in my signature that I think some people have found usefull. If you go by the info there you would need around 27 - 30 metres of cat5. Allows for braiding the cables together.
    I'm not sure it would be the best choice of cable for a sub. I don't use one myself so some one like Eviljohn would be able to offer better advice.
    Best configuration for me was 1 cat5 cable per channel of each driver. For example if you had 3 way speakers you would have 6 cables.

    With the Scart leads, I don't think expensive is the answer. Good quality, termination, sheilding etc. These are not always found in expensive cables. £20 tops should be all you need to spend to get decent quality. Try www.tvcables.co.uk for a start.
    HTH
     
  3. ZAP263

    ZAP263
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks a lot knightshade!

    That is a very easy to understand tutorial. You say I will only need about 30m of Cat5. Would I not actually require about 80 since I have to braid three lengths together to make the cable or have I misunderstood?

    And my system is not some top-end audiophile set up. It's just a one-box Pioneer one. Note I have it set up for actual 5.1 not the 3way thing. Here is the link Click

    I was thinking of buying 100m of Cat5 from Maplins but now I think I won't need that much.

    And what should I use for the sub then? I don't want anything too expensive!
     
  4. Knightshade

    Knightshade
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +43
    Hi Zap,
    Hmmm.... Wasn't thinking very clearly this morning. Yes you're quite right.
    The maplins stuff is fine. It's difficult to buy it in less than 100 metre rolls so this will probably be your best bet. Unless you can find a friendly Network Installation company willing to part with 80metres of the stuff.
    With regards to the sub cable. I would speak to Mark Grant (Maker of very reasonably priced quality cables on this forum)
    He should be able to make something up or at least point you in the right direction. CAT5 may even be OK but I wouldn't say for sure.
     
  5. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,170
    Whereabouts are you Zap?

    I've got 4 boxes of Cat5 with about 35m in each which you can gladly have..
    You'll have to pay the postage obviously, but it should still be cheaper than Maplins...

    Alternatively, you can get a 305m box of cat5 for the same price as 100m from maplins, from just about any cable specialist on the web..

    have a look here as a comparison... that will probably work out your best option overall... use what you need yourself then try sell the remainder in the classifieds..?

    EDIT: If I was starting over, I'd go for the £60 per box FTP cable myself...

    :)
     
  6. ZAP263

    ZAP263
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry about the late reply... Was out of town for a couple of days.

    And unfortunately for myself, I checked the speaker connections in the reciever and they have some striange plug on them but the speaker end is just the normal red/black thing. I tried to flip it open but I was a bit scared of breaking it. Usually these kinds of things have a very easy to open clip but this one didn't. Damn i'm just ****** off now.

    I guess i'm just going to have to continue using bell wire.

    Thanks for the very generous offer dude but as tempting as it is, i'm going to have to pass it unfortunately :( Cheers man.
     
  7. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,170
    I know the connections you mean mate... a fave on Denon recievers in my experience.. they're fiddly little beasts, but you can still get a half decent size conductor in there... maybe just run 2x Cat5 per speaker if you think there isn't room for the triple arrangement... the cable is just sitting in the garage hogging space anyway mate, so if you still fancy it just let me know, I'll bung the 4 coils in one box and post them over anytime you like.... :)
     
  8. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Sorry, I've only just noticed this thread. You don't want to use Cat5 or any other multicored cable for a low-level subwoofer connection; it's much better to get some coaxial cable and then attach the RCA plugs to that. Check Mylo's Homebrew Leads lead sticky in the DIY section for a complete guide on making one. :)
     
  9. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,170
    If ZAP isn't interested, the offer stands to anyone who is..

    I've got 4 x30m of cat5 going free to a good home..all you pay is the postage
    I'll bung the lot in the one box, so it shouldn't cost you too much.

    It'll be going in a skip at the weekend otherwise........... :rolleyes:
     
  10. guli

    guli
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    me me me!

    I would like 1x30m cat5 please - already have 100m - need 15m more....

    what colour choice do I have?

    can you callculate the postage (plus the power adapter that you need to send to me)

    Thanks

    Alex
     
  11. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,170
    Hi Alex,

    you can have grey, grey, grey, or grey :D

    As it's you don't worry about the postage, I'll get it packaged up with the power adapter and send it all in one go on Friday.
     
  12. guli

    guli
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yipppe!

    Thanks a million!

    Alex
     
  13. ZAP263

    ZAP263
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry about coming back late.... again.. but I tried to flip open the plugs once again but it seems as though the only way to get them open is to crush them.. heh....

    Dude, if you really want me to of course I would be happy to take them still if guli hasn't taken them :)

    Really appreciated the help!
     
  14. SimP

    SimP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Has anyone tried using Cat 5 for XLR's? If possible, how would you wire that?
     
  15. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,170
    Hi Zap,

    What reciever have you got, I'm confused as to the type of connectors you mean now..:confused:

    Anyhow, there are still 3 rolls left, Guli only wanted the one..
    There's probably nearer to 50m on each now i've opened up the boxes, do you still want them sending over? I figure the postage will cost you somewhere around £15? - I'll get you a proper price first if you like...

    Drop me a PM with your Address if you want the cable still.... :)
     
  16. ZAP263

    ZAP263
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'll take a picture and post it tomorrow :)

    That is the problem with most home cinema-in-a-box. They usually come with their own plugs. I first had a Philips system and those plugs were very very easy to flip open to change cables. Then I sold that and bought an Aiwa one. Those were easy to open but pretty fiddly in closing. These Pioneer one, however, doesn't seem to have any clips or way to get open. Darn it!

    And yep i'll be happy to take the weight of them cables. YGPM mate!
     

Share This Page

Loading...