1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Some AE200 Photo's - Compare them to AE700 Anyone?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Tempest, Oct 4, 2004.

  1. Tempest

    Tempest
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    5,820
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Horley, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +1,256
    Seeing as how we are having some projector photoshoots again compairing the Pannie Projectors I thought I'd get my tripod out and see what sort of photo's I could take from my AE200 to perhaps see how the new whizz bang projectors compare.
    I had to fiddle with camera settings and found I needed Manual mode and to slow down the shutter speed to between 2 to 4 secs (the camera did some adjusting itself as well)
    I went thru them and found the ones that most look like the actual screen, though to be honest they still don't really look that accurate to what the screen is actually like (which is why I'm not convinced these have any real value) but hey, it's a bit of fun. :D
    Anyway, here are 4 shots, and to help anyone else I've written on the photo's the camera settings they were taken with.
    Any comments of course would be welcome, as would any comparisons with other projectors out there....

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Tempest

    Tempest
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    5,820
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Horley, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +1,256
    No comments anyone ?
    Could this be a record.... 92+ views and not one reply ?
     
  3. meoq

    meoq
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nice photos! I have nothing of my own to compare them with, since I'm still just a budding first time projector buyer. But that looks very nice..makes me wonder why I'm agonising over choices like AE700 v Z3 v HS51 v PJ-TX100, when honestly, I'd probably be over the moon with any of them ;)

    Thanks for going to the trouble!

    edit - Hmm..interesting...looking at the gladiator shot, I think I see screendoor? I haven't really seen it captured in a photo before..very interesting..
     
  4. Tempest

    Tempest
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    5,820
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Horley, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +1,256
    Thanks for the posting.
    Yeah, I know it does LOOK like there is a grid on the Gladiator shot, but it's not screendoor. Strange. I think it's something to do with the actual camera setting/photo (type thing!!!)

    Taking a photo of a monitors width of a 7 foot screen makes screendoor dissapear. I can take a closer pic to show screendoor next time if you'd like.
     
  5. JonMace

    JonMace
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +202
    Its very dificult to compare by photos over the net as it depends on the camera, skills of the photograther, compression etc.
     
  6. PRINCEGRINCH

    PRINCEGRINCH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    650
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Great Photos Tempest. By the way what screen type(make)/size are you using?
     
  7. homeagain

    homeagain
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    411
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +9
    Hi Tempest, Can you tell me how to attatch my screenshots to my next post please ? I don't have a clue. :blush:
    Cheers, Rob. :smashin:
     
  8. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    18,768
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +4,812
    Click on go advanced and then on to manage attachments. :thumbsup:
     
  9. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    18,768
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +4,812
    Tempest are you thinking of upgrading to the 700?I am but my rooms only 11 x 11 ft and already have a 72" screen,just worried i won't have the same if upgrade to the 700.Space is very limited.
     
  10. JonMace

    JonMace
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +202

    Yes you will the 700 can have a smaller or a larger screen from the same throw distence its all down to the optical zoom which does not distort the image
     
  11. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    18,768
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +4,812
    Thats what i wanted to hear,might try and sell my ae200 now and get a ae700 ordered.Cheers :thumbsup:
     
  12. Tempest

    Tempest
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    5,820
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Horley, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +1,256
    I actually made the screen myself, using some techniques I read about on here, plus some of my own invention :)

    I'll explain later (when back home) exactly how I made it and some photo's I took during the making of it.

    Much thinking to get a simple result.
     
  13. Tempest

    Tempest
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    5,820
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Horley, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +1,256
    My room is about the same size and I'm running a 84" wide screen.
    Yes, I have been thinking about upgrading.
    It's still niggling on my mind that the AE700 is simply a stop gap model (a bit of marketing) before the real new model comes out with the new panels.

    I'm sure others will disagree, but if I had a 500 I don't think I'd get a 700. Not when we know the new machines with the new panels (which many hoped the 700 would have) are not that far away.

    But from my 200 to a 700 would probably be nice.
    I'm tempted to see what the new sony is like before I take the jump. It's too close not to wait and see.

    In saying that. If anyone wants to buy my AE200 Then I'd probably get a 700 anyway!!!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...