[SOLVED] Screen jitter issues with PS5 on LG C9 OLED

surfvvax

Novice Member
I recently purchased a PS5 and was excited to take advantage of HDMI 2.1 on my LG OLED C9. I got everything hooked up, and let everything setup to the detected hardware and the recommended settings. My LG C9 brought up a notice stating that it was switching to “HDMI ULTRA HD Deep Color” setting, which is the first time I have seen this setting on my TV, but understand that it is necessary to display the best possible picture. After everything was finished setting up, I started playing a couple of games (God of War with PS5 4k 60fps patch, and Astro’s Playroom) and immediately noticed something was off with both games. The refresh rate is slightly jittery and not silky smooth like it should be at 60fps, which both games claim to be able to achieve. The screen motion is even slightly jittery in the PS5 user interface, which is not a graphically demanding application at all. That suggests to me that the input device is struggling to accept the high bandwidth signal from the PS5. Even my PS4 Pro looked much smoother with God of War running in performance mode, which doesn’t even achieve a consistent 60fps. I turned on both the PS5 and PS4 Pro, and switched between HDMI channels to do a direct head to head comparison, just to make sure I wasn’t going crazy. The PS5 is noticeably running choppy and jittery compared to the PS4 Pro. I understand that the PS4 Pro is far less demanding, and only utilizes HDMI 2.0 output with lower screen resolution, but that shouldn’t matter since the PS5 and LG C9 both claim to be able to handle the higher bandwidth of HDMI 2.1. I have tried setting it up with both the supplied HDMI 2.1 cable that comes with the PS5, and a more robust Audioquest “Forest 48” cable, which claims to be able to handle 8K/10k 48Gbps data transfer. I also tried all the different HDMI inputs on my LG OLED C9, despite the claim that they all have HDMI 2.1 functionality. As expected, I enco