Solved: Panasonic DVD Recorder in black & white on AV1 - Help!

Buzzard104

Standard Member
I have a knotty problem and hope some kind person can help. Being a retired engineer, I am fairly logical but I'm scratching my head over this one.

I have a Panasonic DVD Recorder (DMR-EX86EB) and a Panasonic TV (TX49DS500B). I also use a satellite box (STB) for Sky Freesat known as an Open Box. Earlier this week I was using the DVD remote Direct Navigator button to bring up the contents of the HDD and a sign said "Please Wait" - which was unusual at that time. When I went back to watching TV (on AV1), it had changed into black & white. I can't find a way to get it back into colour.

Here's the strange thing: I can play stuff I've previously recorded on the HDD in colour via a Scart cable; the TV plays in colour from the satellite box via HDMI. But it will now only play in black & white via AV1 (from the DVD Recorder) - and therefore will only record in B&W.

To try to pinpoint the cause, I bypassed the DVD Recorder and connected the AV1 Scart cable direct from the STB to the TV. It played in colour! This seemed to eliminate any problem with the STB. Problem solved, I thought.

They don't make this model of DVD Recorder any more and the later ones have NO way of connecting inputs from any other device, so are of no use to me. So I found an identical one on eBay to my own one and ordered it. It seems in excellent condition.

I connected it all up tonight - and it did precisely the same as my own one did! Is it possible that BOTH machines could suffer from the same fault? I'd have thought that most unlikely. I have chopped and changed all the cables around and substituted some and now I've run out of ideas.

JayCee

Distinguished Member
Go into the DVDR settings menu and check what video format the AV2 input (I'm presuming your Sat box is connected to the DVDR's AV2 input?) is set to.

Buzzard104

Standard Member
Thanks for your reply JayCee.