SOLVED - HDMI over cat5 problem

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by stewy604, Apr 6, 2016.

Tags:
  1. stewy604

    stewy604
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hey Guys,

    New member to avforums, not sure if this is the right forum to ask this, so here goes.

    I'm looking for some expertise and advise on a problem that has arisen on my home system. I've got my AV rack in the basement under the stairs, video is output to the Samsung panel mounted above my fireplace in the living room. The system was working flawlessly for 4 months and all of sudden I've lost the HDMI signal (regardless of source) to the TV. I've done some troubleshooting, including new HDMI cable swaps to chase the problem, firmware upgrades on all gear (including receiver), and hard resets / A/C plug pull, all to no avail. I've also tried re-ordering my power on sequence in the Harmony hub...no change. The only way I can get the video signal to work is to re-seat the HDMI cable that runs from my SC-85 receiver to the Aten balun mounted in my rack...this re-seat has to be done with the components powered on (which I've heard is a no-no since the HDMI cable carries a small DC current?). I'm forced to do this each and every time we power on the TV, once its on and 'connected', I can swap inputs without losing the video signal. Audio from the receiver is unaffected, and works fine. Any other ideas to help me here guys? I know HDMI / HDCP can be finicky at times....just frustrating that it was working 100% and now it's not, with no changes made. Let me know if you need any more information to help me. Thanks guys!

    Hardware Snapshot:
    Pioneer Elite SC-85 AVR
    Arris HD Set Top Box
    Arris HD Gateway/PVR
    Sony BDP-S550 BD Player
    Harmony Home Ultimate Hub
    Aten VE-800A HDMI Extender Kit
    RTI IR Kit
    Samsung UN65JS8500 Panel
    Apple TV (Gen 4)
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2016
  2. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    Try and narrow down the culprit

    Does the Aten extender work when the AVr is taken out of the equation ?
     
  3. stewy604

    stewy604
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Ratings:
    +2
    I haven't tried that yet, but good idea. I'll do some more troubleshooting this week/weekend and report back. Such a pain to chase these issues...but hey, that's technology right?
     
  4. HDC James

    HDC James
    Active Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Malvern
    Ratings:
    +240
    How old are your A-ten extenders? Are they HDBaseT? If so, make sure they are running the most recent version of firmware?
     
  5. stewy604

    stewy604
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Ratings:
    +2
    They're new to me as of December. I've picked up a replacement set from the installer to do some more testing this weekend. These ones are not HDBaseT.
     
  6. stewy604

    stewy604
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Ratings:
    +2
    Just some updates, I was able to solve the problem. Continued troubleshooting, swapped out the Aten baluns to a new set of VE800's, no change...actually worse (couldn't get video signal at all). Swapped to single wire HDMI extenders and voila...works seamlessly!
     
  7. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    Which extender ?
     
  8. stewy604

    stewy604
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Ratings:
    +2
    Lenkeng LKV373
     
  9. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    Pity you didnt go for something that met the HDBaset Standard, but if it works thats OK.

    Though it will probably use compression to get down a single Catx cable, no POC or IR either.

    In itself a single catx solution if not HDBaseT can be worse than a dual catx extender
     
  10. stewy604

    stewy604
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Ratings:
    +2
    The hardware was free, so I can't really complain. It works...no issues, HD feeds, BD, and 4K.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice