1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Solution For Bathroom Tft Installation

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by carlosbrunos, Apr 17, 2005.

  1. carlosbrunos

    carlosbrunos
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All,

    I worked in IT for 5 years before going to work for our family bathroom showroom.

    Yes its true that you cannot have mains supply in the bathroom (take underfloor heating for example, the thermostat control has to be situated outside). But you are allowed to do it with 12V IF the unit is SEALED. Take a look at IP65 and IP68 guides for spot lights in a bathroom.

    I am shortly going to try and install a TFT (32in) in my bathroom. I'm going to stick it in a stud wall (inside a perspect housing, with a rubber 'o' seal for the power cord) and then stick a thick peice of glass in front of the TFT, 2-3in's work. This gets around the problem of condensation (also purchase laminate glass).

    Hope this helps people.

    Cheers

    Carl :)
     
  2. carlosbrunos

    carlosbrunos
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also forgot put a RCA trip on the plug of the TFT so that if a short does happen (due to water) then the power will cut, and you won't die in your bath!

    Cheers

    Carl
     
  3. Roguey

    Roguey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Messages:
    203
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    probably not worried just wondering illegeily, having an TFT inside an stud wall would be classed as having 240v in an bathroom? as wouldnt that section be part of the bathroom?
     
  4. gazzerdaman

    gazzerdaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Chelmsford
    Ratings:
    +5
    Think you mean a RCD mate - and I doubt this would confirm to building regs unless you use a LCD model specifically designed for use in a bathroom environment
     
  5. carlosbrunos

    carlosbrunos
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Building regs are fine as long as the unit is sealed, though this greatly depends on location within a bathroom (as they have different zones, checkout down lighters IP zones). Also my Samsung 172w TFT is 12v and the transformer is 1 and half meters down the cable, with this i'd only be taking 12v to the bathroom.

    Interesting thing though, are there fire regs about putting stuff in stud walls?

    Cheers
     
  6. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    It does not matter where you situate the transformer, it is the transformer that is the problem. You must use the correct type.
    See the other thread.

    Johnny.
     
  7. IronGiant

    IronGiant
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    54,147
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    Ratings:
    +30,137
    Apart from wondering why you want a TV in the bathroom :rotfl:

    240v Electrically heated towel rails, showers, heaters etc are all allowed in a bathroom, so long as there are no plugs. If all wiring is hidden away it shouldn't be a problem. So long as you did it before the new wiring regs kicked in at the beginning of year :oops:

    Dave
     
  8. samjet

    samjet
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    notts
    Ratings:
    +5
    have just installed a combi boiler in bathroom and meets all regs - power supply is through wall with no plug in bathroom and boiler is in cupboard with louvre doors :D
     
  9. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    All of the above are fine in bathrooms, so long as all supplementary bonding is
    installed correctly, and supplied by RCD.

    The wiring regs. have been around for quite a few years, it is the building regs.
    part P that is new.
     
  10. rossimmvii

    rossimmvii
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi,
    im also installing a boiler in the bathroom in the corner with a cupboard to go around it, but does it still comply with regs if, with the cupboard door open, the boiler and sink are both in full arms span reach?

    does the cupboard need a lock on it, (regs access issue).

    where did you install the fused spur if not in the bathroom?

    how did you make the connection between the flex from the spur and the flex of the boiler?

    Any information would be greatly appreciated.
    daniel.streete@carillionplc.com
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    I suggest you contact a Qualified electrician. It is possible bathrooms are zoned so it has to a certain distance from the "wet" areas
     
  12. Steve1951

    Steve1951
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    This is a strange one..........

    If by boiler you mean a central heating gas boiler,you shouldnt be doing it at all you need to be CORGI registered which you obviously arent.

    I n theory you can install yourself if a CORGI engineer does the gas part but thats most of it and they dont like doing that and putting their name to it.

    Thats to say nothing of the Part P bit for the electrics.

    DIY has its limits.

    Regards

    Steve
     
  13. benwillcox

    benwillcox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Telford
    Ratings:
    +22
    Actually that isn't strictly true, contrary to popular belief. Not that I'd advise it though. However you would indeed have to notify under Part P for electrics in a Bathroom, and I think boiler replacement also now has to be notified under Part L, although I'm not certain about that.

    Ben
     
  14. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    to relocate a boiler you need buiding approval and possibly planning i think defo need a proffesional opinion.
     
  15. albriscoe

    albriscoe
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    5,356
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    ideal home cinema dem room
    Ratings:
    +522

Share This Page

Loading...