Solid State Drives... Worth it?

avinitski

Novice Member
im not an expert in this but i have read that the only SSD's worth considering are the new Intel X25-M ones.

does anyone have a SSD what are they like? particularily the Intel ones.

HellRazer

Standard Member
I do not believe the current SSD technology is worth the price they are asking for. My advice would be to wait just a little longer and see what they come up with. If the sound of your hard drive is really annoying you have you considered purchasing another one?

Western Digitals are known to be really silent during operation. I read that their 500gig ones are extremely quiet during load. I don't know if you need a hard drive that big but it would never hurt to have that extra storage space :)

Afterall...you were considering splashing out on a SSD.

Plasma Dan

Western Digitals are known to be really silent during operation. I read that their 500gig ones are extremely quiet during load. I don't know if you need a hard drive that big but it would never hurt to have that extra storage space :)

Afterall...you were considering splashing out on a SSD.
Well... I built this system to be quiet, as my old PC sounded like a jet engine :mad:.

So I wanted the new one to be as silent as I could get it. I even bought one of those £10 ultra silent Enermax fans for the back :eek:.

I only wanted a cheap HDD for the OS, I already have a 500GB HDD in there (MAXTOR)

I think you are right tho, I should wait for one. Just can't wait to have a silent running ultra fast SSD :D.

I know the write speeds are bad on the current models, but I wouldn't be writing much anyway, it's just an OS drive.

Cheapest SATA drive I can find is on SCAN for £98.

:rolleyes: ...Think how fast it would boot up with one of those... :rolleyes:

HellRazer

Standard Member