1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Solderless modding (X-Box)

Discussion in 'Nintendo Forums' started by thfcwestlower, Oct 17, 2004.

  1. thfcwestlower

    thfcwestlower
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    184
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +11
    Hi,

    I am looking to mod my X-Box (purchased a couple of weeks ago) so that I can get prog scan output, but would prefer to do it myself and have seen some solderless modding chips here:

    HTML:
    http://www.whitedog.co.uk/catalog/default.php?cPath=9_91&osC
    Would you recommend that I go through this route to get the X-Box chipped?
     
  2. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,484
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,410
    I got a non solder chip and new hard drive

    chip is not difficult to fit but it can be "fiddly" and a bit scary - but follow the instructions and you should be fine
     
  3. daz500

    daz500
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wouldn't bother fitting a chip as a software modification is very easy to do.
    I've just done a friends xbox and it took no more than 5 minutes without even opening the box.

    larger hard drives are also compatable :smashin:
     
  4. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,340
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,026
    daz, how easy is the software mod? I'd be tempted, as then I can just get a box off the high street and I'm away.

    I only want it for Xbox media center over network.

    Once softmodded, does it stay like that? I don't mind never using that one for live (got one in the lounge for that)

    pm if its sensitive :)
     
  5. daz500

    daz500
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +0
    A soft mod is very easy and can be easily reversed for when you do want to go on XBOX live.

    I've done this using a hack for James Bond 007: Agent Under Fire but there is also one for Splinter Cell.

    Basically, get yourself 007 from the local 2nd hand shop (or ebay) and a memory card. If you know someone with a chipped box then an original memory card is OK otherwise get yourself an action replay one. In fact, buy my AR as I don't need it anymore ;)

    If you want to install a larger hard drive then its a wee bit trickier but not impossible.
     
  6. dolph

    dolph
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +26
    daz - I know you joked but do you want to sell your action replay? If so how much (inc. p+p)?
     
  7. dolph

    dolph
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +26
    Also should add a warning to original poster - if you're xbox is a v1.6 then there is no solderless chip option available yet anyway.

    Can't believe I'm helping a spurs fan....
     

Share This Page

Loading...