1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sold a pronto - buyer says not working - any ideas whats wrong

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by dUnKle, Oct 11, 2004.

  1. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,619
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,455
    Sold my pronto last week on ebay but buyer says its not working - says he can get no display on the device

    it was working fine prior to me sending it - in fact was being used almost up til it being posted

    any ideas what could be at fault
     
  2. Supra

    Supra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    430
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +14
    Has he tried setting the contrast, he may have accidently moved the setting. Also worth checking the batterys are inserted correctly.

    I bet it is the contrast setting.
     
  3. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +119
    yeah mine caught me out a few times where the contrast was knocked etc and the screen stayed blank.. utter panic attack until I turned it back down !
     
  4. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,619
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,455
    Its looking like there could be a problem

    States that tried contrast and nothing

    sold it with the charger - states light on charger is on but does not go off when remote is sat on it


    if remote was in front of me I may be able to sort it - was there not a reset switch on the back ?
     
  5. Supra

    Supra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    430
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +14
    Yes there is a reset feature, more like a reset hole than a switch. It is located at the back, I have used it before, you have to prod a paperclip or similar in there and wait.

    The buyer could have tried to re-programme it and done something stupid, he may be making an excuse.

    Good luck sorting it out
     
  6. stevej

    stevej
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    My Pronto is suffering exactly the same problem. The screen remains blank, but when it’s on the charger the green light is on. I’ve tried everything but it’s dead! :confused:

    If you’re able to sort this out I’d be very interested to know how you did it.
     
  7. HeweyBoy101

    HeweyBoy101
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    859
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Lancing, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +60
    On occasions I've dropped mine and the battery pack has become dislodged. There was a procedure for locating the battery properly - I remember there being a special note about it in the box when new. Try removing and re-installing battery - make sure lugs are located and push down until it clicks into place - need to be quite forceful to get it in properly. Worth a try.
     
  8. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,184
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,185
    Re-sit the battery pack, as if the battery stays on, its charging.
     
  9. Loada

    Loada
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    585
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Guisborough, North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +48
    Echo the others with it pointing to the battery pack. If necessary, take the battery out and leave it overnight. Then place it back in and make sure it goes in properly - you might want to consider cleaning the battery contacts in the Pronto itself. Another tip is to be fairly aggressive when putting the battery back in to make sure its seated firmly. You should then see it charging correctly (and subsequently, the Pronto working).

    Worst case scenario is that the battery may be dead - can he attempt to use some normal AA batteries just to confirm that the Pronto is working?
     

Share This Page

Loading...