Solar panels on flat roof...

frazk

Prominent Member
Reaction score
I've bought myself16 solar panels on the cheap off ebay... I was thinking once I get my flat roof replaced it'd be nice and easy to chuck some on there but the more I look into it the bigger the minefield it actually is.
I'm an electrician so connecting them up is easy, I've already fit 6 on top of my pergola to give me some free electric temporary.
I found some fixings that screw into the epdm roof and then a boot fits over the top to seal the roof again, but these are in the USA and I can't find a stockist in the UK. Has anyone used any kind of roof fixing before? I'm obviously very nervous of penetrating the new roof 😬
Another option is ballast but from what I can see I'll need approx 100kg per panel and I'm not over keen on adding around 2 ton on top of my roof!
I've come up with another idea of making a steel frame and fixing it into the facias/roof timber so that may be the route I go down.
I understand I'm meant to get PP and structural engineer etc but I'm pretty sure they'll never find out anyway....
Anyone got any other bright ideas they're using? Or know where I can find the roof fixings ill need?
Thanks

I was going to mention PP for a flat roof fitment, but as you’re aware, I’ll not bother! ;)

As for fitment, I’d have thought a simple frame, rather like the framework you might build for decking would do the job - then it might just need a couple of secure attachments.

If you know where the joists are underneath the membrane, would it be possible to slit the membrane open at a couple of points and put a small block on the joists that you would anchor to? You could then place the membrane up the side and over the blocks - you would need to add some extra membrane yourself to do this and heat seal it, but this would stop any water pooling around the fixings themselves. A bit like how a roof light is built up slightly out of the roof if that makes sense.