1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Software

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by Renz, Apr 7, 2005.

1. Renz

Renz
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi, I'm new to DSLR's having just "upgraded" from an EOS 500 (35mm) to a 20D. It hasn't arrived yet but I know that the camera is bundled with Photoshop Elements 2 and I was wondering whether it would be better to get either the v3 or the Paintshop Pro 9. Any ideas an which is the better software to use as a novice?
    I've also ordered a 1gb Ultra CF card so I was toying with the idea of experimenting with RAW files, I believe that they need a little work, is it easy enough to do or do you think that I'd be better off to start with JPEG?
    Thanks for your help.

2. seany

seany
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have a 20D and i have photo shop elements 2 and photoshop CS. I think that if you've never used such a program before, elements 2 will be enough. I'd say the average person would only ever need elements. I'd leave paint shop pro and stick with photoshop. The camera was bundled with softwear to process raw of course photoshop can to.

Beauty about Digital is you can just try both it will cost you nothing.

3. Johndm

Johndm

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +56

PShop elements 2 will do you proud with those large jpegs, but you will need CS for RAW files.

Stick with the jpegs to start, you won't get much advantage with RAW until you start to get serious, and/or have a glossy magazine ask you for a high res copy for 'serious' enlargement, in exchange for several hundred of their pounds... :smashin:

All these shot in 'large jpeg', http://www.airliners.net/search/pho...rnet.com&sort_order=views&distinct_entry=true