1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

software update

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by G a f f e r, Dec 27, 2004.

  1. G a f f e r

    G a f f e r
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,899
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    U.K.
    Ratings:
    +484
    I've just downloaded the latest software update for my iPod. If I proceed to update it, will I lose my existing music collection (which I've spent 2 weekends sticking on there manually as my powerbook hardrive hasn't got much space left)

    thanx for any help
     
  2. LinkinRuss

    LinkinRuss
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    178
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    no, u wont lost ur data unless u actually format the ipod. updating just updates the software
     
  3. G a f f e r

    G a f f e r
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,899
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    U.K.
    Ratings:
    +484
    thanx LnkinRuss - happy new year
     
  4. Ace12434

    Ace12434
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What is the necessity of updating the software? I am a fairly new IPOD user, and I get a request to download an update every time I plug it in. I always click 'no' because I had the same concern about losing songs. It still works fine. Do I need to keep it updated?
     
  5. mick's cat

    mick's cat
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    New firmware updates are regularly posted (they seem to come out about once every couple of months or so) by Apple to give new features or improve stability for existing features for iPods. You don't have to update, but doing so will get rid of the message when you plug it in.
     

Share This Page

Loading...