1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Software Interpolation.

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by pwiles1968, Dec 15, 2003.

1. pwiles1968

pwiles1968

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +10
    I am new to digital photography, and have only had a camera for a few weeks, bought a Minolta Z1, I am very impressed, so much so I will probably end up selling all of my SLR Kit, I do however have one problem when I do larger prints, ½ A4 pictures are starting to get a little grainy (on close inspection), I was expecting this really as the camera is only 3Mp. I have read about Digital Interpolation in the new Fuji Cameras and realise it is software based, are there any programs out there that I can use on the PC to help with image quality on larger prints? I already use paint shop or Photoshop to Sharpen etc – (still learning how to use these) Just wondered if there was anything else out there I could be using. :confused:

Doh - Just read the genuine fractals thread, Same question really.

2. GrahamC

GrahamC

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +67
  3. tomson

tomson

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +187
    If you're using photoshop you should be able to (with a bit of trial and error) get some very good results using a combination of unsharp mask, multiple layers with blending modes and layer opacity. Once you've found a suitable combination you can set up an action to replicate the effect and assign it to a key stroke. Hey presto - one key resizing with very little break up or grain.

4. jaymac

jaymac

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +138